1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Router advice please

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by sdfuk, 16 Jan 2006.

  1. sdfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 959

    Location: Essex

    Hi

    I'm going to set up a network at home. This will consist of my desktop PC which can be physically attached to a modem/router and a laptop which will have the wireless connection. This is my first attempt at this and wandered if somethiong like the Linksys WRT54GX Wireless-G Broadband Router with SRX would be a good choice?

    Also, is it possible to have a wireless connection on the laptop without having to switch my desktop on? I'm assuming that the Desktop PC has to be on for the wireless connections to work or is this incorrect?

    Thanks for any help
    S
     
  2. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    That router would work if you have a cable modem - not if you have ADSL.

    The desktop won't need to be on for the laptop to have internet access though, that's the advantage of using a router.
     
  3. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,899

    Location: Hull, UK

    I have the Netgear DGB834G UK modem router, with my Main pc hard wired to the router, wife's laptop conected by centrino chipset wireless connection and my media pc has a Netgear wlan usb adaptor. Both the wireless connections happily connect to the router when the main pc is turned off. The modem router stores all the settings and allows authorised connections without the need for a computer to be controlling it.
    Get the GT version that supports 108Mbps, check them out at the overclockers site with this link. http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Wireless_Routers.html

    Had mine for a week now, absolutely rock solid bit of kit.

    Rob H
     
  4. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Don't bother with the GT. 108Mbit wireless is a total gimmick, plus the GT (which uses totally different hardware to the DG834 & DG834G) is not known for being reliable. Have a search on these forums and you should find several posts of people complaining about theirs.
     
    Last edited: 16 Jan 2006
  5. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,899

    Location: Hull, UK

    I have the 54Mbps G version, I nearly got the GT version as well. Pleased I got the G version now.

    Rob H
     
  6. sdfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 959

    Location: Essex

    Thanks for the help

    So basically if i already have a modem all I need is a router to add other devices wirelessly.

    Basicall we've been recommended to get the linksys WAG54GX2 by some IT bloke where my wife works. I wasn't told why but maybe it's due to their adaptors in their notebooks! Mentioned something about MIMO being could for distances.

    The summary of it is:

    All-In-One Internet Connectivity.

    ADSL 2.0 Modem function.

    Router function

    built-in 4-port 10/100 Ethernet Switch to attach four wired PCs directly

    'Multiple In, Multiple Out' (MIMO) - for longer distances

    Wi-Fi Protected Access™ (WPA) protects your data and privacy with up to 128-bit industrial-strength encryption and 802.1x authentication and authorization.

    SPI firewall to protect your PCs against intruders and most known Internet attacks, and supports VPN pass-through. Whats VPN?


    Cheers
    Sean
     
  7. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    I don't know about current versions, but the earlier WAG54's were pretty awful and best avoided.

    If you're interested in MIMO, you need to look at a Netgear DG834PN, no idea what they're like though.

    WPA is good, you'll want to use WPA-PSK with a nice long preshared key (that's the PSK bit) over WEP.

    VPN = Virtual Private Network. If you don't know what it is, then it is probably of no interest to you. It is standard that a router will support VPN pass through.

    Edit: I forgot to say that the router won't operate with your current modem, it will replace it.
     
    Last edited: 16 Jan 2006
  8. sdfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 959

    Location: Essex

    Hi

    Thanks, I'm a bit worried too that it won't work with my normal ADSL connection as I've read in a couple of posts that its ADSL2 only - is that correct?

    S
     
  9. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Nah, it'll work fine with current ADSL connections.
     
  10. fonzee

    Soldato

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,286

    Location: Cornwall

    mate, the router you suggested is a superb router! just do a few quick reviews on the net and its currently one of the best out there... i just ordered mine to replace my netgear one...

    Itll do everything you need... do not go netgear... too unreliable and under performing in general... linksys all the way!
     
  11. bruce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2002

    Posts: 782

    Location: sunderland

    I have a linksys router, trying to get it secured by wpa, how do i enable that?

    the model is WAG354G

    cheers
     
  12. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    It should just be a case of logging into the router, going to wireless settings, turning on WPA-PSK, entering a nice long preshared key, applying the changes and then entering the same key into the wirelessly connected PC when prompted.

    It'd be best to to the router change whilst connected with a cable so that you don't lose the connection after you apply.
     
  13. bruce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2002

    Posts: 782

    Location: sunderland

    cheers mate, all sorted :)