Router for VPN and an Open SSID?

Soldato
Hello,

My Sky deal is up and although I've been happy with the Broadband 65/19 speeds I'm thinking of joining Virgin. However, I know virgins WiFi is abysmal so I'm toying with the idea of getting a decent Router, the Sky Q router has been fine. I'd like to set up a couple of SSID on my Home network, one running Private Internet Access (VPN) and one open. I assume if I do this I can pick what devices connect to which.

I'd get the 350meg with virgin, mu house is more or less fully wired,although phone tablets etc are on WiFi.

Any tips on which router I should go for, as you can tell I'm no expert but am comfortable flashing the router if required.

Cheers

Soldato
Are you tied to a one box solution? I can tell you how I would (and indeed do) do this:

Separate routing, modem and wifi duties between a low powered PC running pfSense, the Virgin superhub in modem mode and Ubiquiti Access Points. You wouldn't need to have seperate SSIDs to have different devices routed to VPN or an open connection. On pfSense you would ensure each device you cared about running behind a VPN was reserved its own IP address. You'd then take these IP addresses and create an alias, say 'VPN devices'. You'd have two gateways on your pfSense, one for the striaght Virgin connection and one for your PIA over the Virgin. You create a firewall rule up top that says route 'VPN devices' via the PIA gateway and the default rule below that will route anything not matching that to the open Virgin conneciton.