1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rugby Rules Question – What do you think?

Discussion in 'Sports Arena' started by PlacidCasual, 25 Jan 2006.

  1. PlacidCasual

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 6,466

    Ok guys this one is a little involved but give me your opinion on what the ruling should be.

    Team A kicks the ball for touch.

    Player B of Team B catches the ball cleanly before it bounces. One foot is firmly in the field of play the other is firmly out of the field of play. Is it:

    Team A’s line out as Player B took the ball out of play.

    Team B’s line out because Player B was out of play and so by touching him the ball is out of play and Team A kicked it.


    I intend to ask a trained rugby referee as soon as possible but would welcome peoples opinions and arguments. I have my own opinion and will share it after a few responses if I get any.
     
  2. Gilly

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 95,526

    Location: I'm back baby!

    I take it this is gay rugby and not League?

    The ball isn't out until it hits the ground and can be caught out of play as long as the player isn't out of touch, so I'd go with option 1. The ball was only out of play when the player touched it.
     
  3. Hinchy55

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,143

    Location: Farm/Altrincham/Nigeria

    Lol. Funny how you call it the gay rugby and Leeds are bottom of the table. :p

    I agree though rugby league is far more entertaining. Faster paced, bigger hits, and so much better to watch especially when great teams like Bradford are in full flow :)

    As for the question. I'd say option 1.
     
  4. Cookie-Monster

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,044

    Location: London

    Team A's line out if it was real rugby, not sure about that run forward and fall over malarkey they play near scotland.

    tis simple the ball was in play, the team B player caused the ball to be out of play by effectively carrying it in to touch, as he caught the ball while in touch, the ball was legal and in play until player b caught it therefore Kicking team's lineout.
     
  5. PlacidCasual

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 6,466

    Now this is where I disagree. In rugby union if you are on or over the line you are out of play. The ball is not out of play until it touches something out of play, flag line, ground or a player. So I reckon if you are out of play and the ball touches you it becomes out of play. If you are out of play you can't have taken it out because you were never in play.

    I would need to check the rules carefully but I'd be interested in what a referee who had just read the rules thought.
     
  6. Drawoh Tesremos

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 15 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,076

    Location: UK

    It's player B who caused it to go out of play, even though he was out of play when he touched it. So A's lineout.
     
  7. MrMoon

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,596

    gay rugby = Rugby League
     
  8. Nedved11

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Aug 2003

    Posts: 4,407

    Edit the title mate, Rugby doesn't rule at all :o ;)
     
  9. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    Team A's line out.
     
  10. Cookie-Monster

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,044

    Location: London

    that would work if the player from team b was fully in touch but with one foot in and one foot out, he is deemed to have carried the ball into touch.
     
  11. Rich_L

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,170

    Location: Santa Barbara, Californee

    Team A's lineout if the ball had not crossed the line before the player caught it, if the ball had crossed the line then Team B's lineout.
     
  12. alx

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,027

    Location: Dubai, UAE

    Agreed.

    As far as I know the ball can be over the line but if it hasn't touched anything out of play (eg player, ground) then it's not out of play and the game can carry on. So you can catch a ball in mid air if it's 'over the line' as long as your in play.
     
  13. hogfather

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,074

    Location: Sarrrf London

    team A's lineout.

    Union rocks. League feels too engineered with the whole 6 tackles thing. Its quite exciting, but for me union is where its at.
     
  14. Baker

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 937

    Ballet dancers. :rolleyes:

    OH NO SOMEONE TOUCHED ME I BETTER FALL OVER AND CRY! :(
     
  15. rmt

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2003

    Posts: 158

    If the ball has crossed the line already, then it is team B's lineout.

    On the league-union debate, I get the pleasure to play both, and both have their merits. Although league does feel a bit too much like british bulldog to me.

    Despite this, people will always argue which is the worse code or 'gay' as some forum members would like ;)
     
  16. Cookie-Monster

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,044

    Location: London

    No, if it is over the line and in the air then that is fine, it is when it directly or indirectly is grounded over the line then it is out of play, so if the player is fully in field and catches a ball that is in the air but over the line then the ball is not in touch, very similar rules to basketball in this manner.