1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Rumour Control?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by jonjjl, 27 Mar 2006.

  1. jonjjl

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Mar 2006

    Posts: 23

    Well i'm looking to upgrade my pc over the next few weeks. So ive been borrowing all my mates PC mags to get some extra knowledge. I found an article in Custom PC singing the priases of the Opteron 144. In the article i read it said that an Opteron with the right set-up can be clocked to 2.8ghz with air. This then makes it faster than a FX-55!
    Now considering the price difference of the two chips mentioned, getting an Opteron144 and overclocking it has reached the top of my to-do list.
    What i'm basically asking all you guys is whether this is possible or is it somewhat exagerating the speeds.

    My current set-up is:
    AMD 64 3000+
    ABIT Fatality AN8 SLi
    XFX 6600GT 128mb
    1gb Corsair XMS Ram

    Im looking to change the cpu and maybe the RAM and add another 6600gt card.

    All tips and advice much apreciated
     
  2. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,484

    Location: Manchester

    The Opteron's are basically server class CPU's (rebadged FX chips iirc??).

    The Opteron 144 has a multiplier of 9X - with the right setup 2.8 is acheivable, but only if the CPU is a good one. I have an Opteron 144 and can only get 2.5ghz out of it.
    It is pot luck what kind og CPU you get, some can do 2.8Ghz + on air with a small increase in volts, but it isn't all that common iirc - you'd be looking at minimum 2.6ghz if you buy one and clock it probably.

    Depending on your cooling you may be able to go higher as as you up the clock speed and volts your temperatures will increase.

    However a good idea would be to go for an Opteron 146 if you can find one, they have a 10X multiplier and tend to overclock better and easier than the 144's imo (I wish I'd gone for a 146)
     
  3. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

  4. jonjjl

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Mar 2006

    Posts: 23

    Thats great, the 146 is within my budget so think ill go for one of them.
    OcUk have them listed as in stock so should be able to get one from them :)
     
  5. wyatt gates

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,912

    Location: Bracknell, Berks.

    i have tried another 6600GT awhile back it is not worth the hassle,i would go for cpu and another gig of ram and save up for 7800GT or GTX
     
  6. jonjjl

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Mar 2006

    Posts: 23

    That Ocing thread is a bit in depth for me, i need to do some homework i think b4 i start doing this :)