1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running network cables outside?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Uhtred, 5 Jun 2006.

  1. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,909

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Hi guys, i'm looking at setting up a computer in our garage which is probably 20-30m or so from my room and the router and goes outside the house. What would be the best way to protect it from the elements?
     
  2. Skiddley

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2003

    Posts: 3,763

    Use Outdoor cat5. You can use a plastic conduit for added protection, the kind used to protect outdoor power cables. Alternativly you can use direct burial cat5. In both cases you want to look to bury the cable 15-20cm deep.

    Outdoor cat5 uses a UV resistent coating and typically have a gel inside which is water-resistent incase the coating does fail.

    Skidd.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  3. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,909

    Location: Hertfordshire

    That's great, how much more expensive is outdoor cat? I'll probably want CAT6 for future proofing

    Thanks
     
  4. Skiddley

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2003

    Posts: 3,763

    Google is your friend :).
     
  5. Scope

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 934

    Location: Swindon

    I've used normal cat5 cables to run from my living room to our garage, and its been running fine for 3-4 years now.. It might be worth noting this is only running alongside (outside) the wall, and not run under ground, in case you are doing this.
     
  6. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,909

    Location: Hertfordshire

    *filters out many references to outdoor feline behaviour :D