1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running on 3 ? Help / Advice

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Phil W, 18 Jan 2006.

  1. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,945

    Location: Jupiter

    My Brother's R5 Campus Prima (1.4) is running on 3 cylinders.

    He said it's only happened thought (conicidently when he was fiddling under the engine bay).

    It's too dark to check all the spark plugs and leads, but its been a while since they were changed, infact we dont exactly know when.

    Is it just worth getting new plugs & leads and replacing the old ? I pressume this is whats causing the problem ?

    Cheers,

    Phil
     
  2. Lashout_UK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Mar 2004

    Posts: 11,795

    Location: SE England

    Fouth one is actually connected, isn't it? :p

    But yes, HT leads do tend to break down, along with plugs. Might be worth swapping the known bad lead with a good one, then after, do it with the plug.

    If the fault then shifts to another cylinder, you've got your culprit :)
     
  3. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,945

    Location: Jupiter

    Changed the plugs today, and problem dissapeared, chanegd the leads aswell though as we weren't quite sure of their age !
     
  4. Ultra_Extreme

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,208

    How did you know it was only running on 3 cylinders out of interest?
     
  5. Phil W

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,945

    Location: Jupiter

    You can tell by the sound of the engine, not so much on idle but when you rev/accelerate you can hear it, misses and sounds like its "jumping".
     
  6. Ultra_Extreme

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,208

    i see ta