1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

San Diego 3700+ Vs Venice 3800+

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by gam3r, 15 Jun 2006.

  1. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,789

    Location: London..

    Basically, i want to know which CPU is better at stock, and which one overclocks better?
    I was thinking the SD core would give a significant performance increase over the venice core, but the venice being rated at 3800 over 3700...?

    Thank you :)
     
  2. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Jun 2004

    Posts: 11,988

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    They will perform almost the same at stock 2.2Ghz 1Mb Vs. 2.4Ghz 512K.

    However they will probably overclock to about the same levels, and then the 1Mb cache of the Sandy will give it the lead.

    Price difference is the only problem, 3800+ @ £95 or 3700+ @ £120...

    Personally i'd pay the extra for the Cache.
     
  3. Murzo

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Oct 2005

    Posts: 609

    3700+ would be my choice, san diego core is far better for overclocking.
     
  4. gam3r

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,789

    Location: London..


    Thats whats got me...
     
  5. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,286

    Location: Rutland

    I'd go for the 3700+ tbh, they clock better and have twice the cache.
     
  6. gt_junkie

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 8,090

    Location: The Lakes

    Like Minstadave says - they clock better and have twice the cash.

    I'd go 3700 if i were you! I have one myself that has been taken to 2.6ghz with absolutely no issues and now sits happily at 2.4ghz (idle is 29 degrees C).

    gt_junkie
     
  7. Jay_t

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 714

    Location: The Lake District

    Get the 3700 without a doubt. The extra 1mb cache will be useful and they will probably both o/c the same