1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Sapphire X1600 Pro 512MB

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Nikumba, 27 Mar 2006.

  1. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,752

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    What are people opinions of this card Sapphire X1600 Pro 512MB.

    - Powered by ATI Radeon X1600 Pro - 500MHz
    - 512MB-128bit 4 channel DDR2 memory - 800MHz
    - 12 Pixel shader processor
    - 5 Vertex shader processor
    - 8 Geometry Pipelines
    - Ultra-threaded SM 3.0 Engine
    - 256-bit Ring-bus
    - ATI Avivo™ (Video-In Cables not supplied)

    I know I can get the 7800GS but thats £200 ish whereas this card is only £100

    So its either get the 7800GS and no extra ram or get the card above and add an extra gig of ram

    What everyone think?

    Cheers
     
  2. Shiz

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 519

    The 512 ram is wasted on that x1600. 512 ram on a gpu only comes into its own with heavy AA and AF or at high resolutions (ie. 1600*1200 +).
     
  3. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    For £100 I would rather have a Powercolour X800GTO16, only real tech difference is the X1600 has SM3 where as the X800 has SM2, but the X800 has more pipelines, better memory interface (256 compared to 128) and will probly do the same speeds with some overclocking.

    Edit: The X800 actually has faster memory and most I have seen with earlier cores have manged to get 500+ on the core.
     
    Last edited: 27 Mar 2006
  4. bbreezeuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 21 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,145

    Location: Bath, UK

    is it for AGP or PCI-E
     
  5. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,752

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    For AGP and i run my games at 16*12

    Agr3sive, the x1600 does have a 256bit mem interface its based on 2 bi-directional 128bit paths

    Nikumba
     
  6. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    the X1600 Pro is close to 6600GT speeds.

    If getting the Sapphire X1600 Pro, get the 256MB one as extra ram would be wasted, and for under £100 thats a better buy
     
  7. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,752

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    True but the 512Mb ver is on this week only for only a fiver more than the 256mb version

    Nikumba
     
  8. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,848

    Location: In a house

    Its rubbish, the 6600 GT whoops it, the x1600 XT is the 6600 GT beater. :)

    If you can stretch to an extra £11, then you can get the OcUK 6600 GT, which is much better than the x1600 pro, wallops it. :)
     
    Last edited: 28 Mar 2006
  9. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Last edited: 28 Mar 2006
  10. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    Well you learn something new everyday :)
     
  11. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,848

    Location: In a house

    Id stay away from the x1600 pro, even Gibbo will you tell that, its a rubbish card, don't know what that reviews on about as it doesn't compete with the 6600 GT, only the x1600 XT is the one worth getting as thats the 6600 GT beater, check out this review here :)

    Do a search for x1600pro, and you'll find the same, terrible cards.
     
    Last edited: 28 Mar 2006
  12. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,752

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    Thanks for the link but the results they have are pretty useless for me since they were all done at 1024 x 768 when i run my games at 1600 x 1200

    Cheers
     
  13. amdnv

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Mar 2006

    Posts: 207

    You wont really see much diff from 1280x1024 to 1600x1200 apart from lower FPS, best use 1280x1024 and max all eyecandy, esp on nice CRT where refresh rate will be lower at 1600x1200 than 1280x1024.

    Its a game not a HD movie for time being I think 1280x1024 + max all settings is suffice.
     
  14. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I happen to have an inexpensive 19inch monitor that does [email protected], and I like to play games at this resolution.

    For £100 I'd consider whether performance is really worth giving up for SM3.0, especially as midrange cards tend to struggle at 1600x1200.
     
  15. amdnv

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Mar 2006

    Posts: 207

    Just to let you know 75hz at that res is the min spec by some USA medical boards tests, and 85hz is min recommended at that res, your eyes (depends on you as a individual) may or may not see 60hz flickering but your brain does see it and you end up feeling sick and have sore head if you game long enough at 60hz on CRT.

    I cant say if 75hz is ok long term but its min spec that passed not recommended.
     
  16. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I know what you're saying, and that is why my desktop is at 1280x1024. I also turn the brightness down to mitigate any ill-effects.
     
  17. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,752

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    I use a Dell 2001FP and i dont like how games look at 1280 x 1024 since its not a proper 4:3 screen res

    Nikumba
     
  18. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Most games let you choose 1280x960..
     
  19. amdnv

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Mar 2006

    Posts: 207

    1280x1024 is not really corret 4:3 as it is said but some games do let you set it then choose aspect 4:3 or 16:9, simply set to 1280x960
     
  20. neil27

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 443

    AHHHHHHHH why didnt i see this thread befor....

    I just bought a saphire x1600pro 512mb for £95 posted...I thought I was getting a good deal :confused:


    Do I cancel it befor they post it?? and try to find a 6600GT?


    Im upgrading from a 9800xt...just want something to give me a little more zip.

    neil