1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SATA connections

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Viral, 14 May 2006.

  1. Viral

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Mar 2006

    Posts: 455

    Location: Vancouver, BC

    I have noticed that my SATA connections seem to be very loose on my new A8N-E as I have moved ikt a couple of times during the install and it was not detecting my HDD due to losing the connection. Is this normal as they do seem like crappy connections to me.
     
  2. dalex

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 810

    Location: gatesheed(gods country)

    remake connection securely before you close the case up ,if it continues tie wrap it to something solid
     
  3. Viral

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Mar 2006

    Posts: 455

    Location: Vancouver, BC

    Ok thx for the advice, are they always this bad?
     
  4. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    :eek:
     
  5. Viral

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Mar 2006

    Posts: 455

    Location: Vancouver, BC

    No wonder they are so crap.
     
  6. split

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: Dorset

    Asus has changed the design of a few sata ports on some boards.
    You can see like a black outer here on the A8N32-SLI Deluxe.

    Iv'e never broken one, but they are flimsy esp the older ones without that black outer :(
     
  7. Stripe

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Aug 2005

    Posts: 221

    wow, that isn't many at all! they must be designed to fail to keep the cable industry alive. im always messing about with my hard drives - swapping them over and such. think i might have to stop.