1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sata II HDD and ASRock Mobo

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Liquid_Entity, 11 Jul 2006.

  1. Liquid_Entity

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,350

    Location: Eastbourne

    Will a WD2500KS Caviar SE16, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 16MB Cache work with a Asrock AR-939 DUAL-SATA2 ULi M1695 moherboard ??????
     
  2. mosfet

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,152

    Location: London

    It's a SATA interface drive and a motherboard with a SATA interface, isn't it fairly simple? Yes.
     
  3. dalex

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 810

    Location: gatesheed(gods country)

    dont forget the sata drivers on a floppy before formatting and set the selector on the hard drive
    dave
    :D :D :D :D
     
  4. Liquid_Entity

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,350

    Location: Eastbourne

    how rude !!

    Was just concerned as the motherboard is a bit on the naff side and the hard drive is a bit on the good side. Also confused me with the SATA300 bit.

    I am quite clever enough to work out that a Sata drive will work with a Sata motherboard merely questioning it's ability to function at its optimum level.
     
  5. Mr Men

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 May 2006

    Posts: 9,191

    Location: PSN

    Why is the mobo on the naff side?

    Maybe your the rude one, lots of people on here use the said naff mobo :rolleyes:
     
  6. mosfet

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,152

    Location: London

    Sorry mate, but you came on here asking a blatently obvious question (the motherboard has the word "SATA2" in it). I reserve the right to be rude.

    So why didn't you ask that, rather than what you're "quite clever enough to work out"?

    Yes, it'll work, and on the SATA2 controller on your board it'll work at 3Gbps, but you probably won't notice any vast improvement over the standard SATA 1.0 controller.
     
  7. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,779

    Location: London

    lol, sorry but thats wrong :rolleyes:

    Its one of the best boards for an upgrader! Dont be put off by its name.. It's manufactured by Asus. It's not meant to be good at clocking. But my 3700 is at 2.7 on stock volts. Hardly naff is it

    :)