1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Saving your settings" taking long

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Craig321, 28 Feb 2006.

  1. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Hi,

    On shutdown/restart instead of "Saving your settings" being there for a few seconds / just flashes past it stays there for around 20 seconds, my 1.5ghz PC with 512 ram even beats this PC with 1024mb ram and 3.0ghz on shutdown.

    Any ideas what I can do to fix please?

    Thanks
    Craig.
     
  2. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    Is the profile local or roaming?
     
  3. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Local
     
  4. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Bump
     
  5. Scythe

    Soldato

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,326

    I recommend making a new account, and seeing if it happens on that, if not, you may have a slightly corrupted profile.

    *Ninja Edit*
     
  6. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

  7. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    OK, will try that.

    Hmm, the lines it tells me to edit are already blank O_o
     
  8. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    OK, just made a new test account and it doesn't have the problem.
    Any ideas what I can do to fix it please? As I really couldn't be bothered to re-do my profile.

    Craig
     
  9. Simmy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,234

    Location: Bristol

    Do you notice if the hard drive is churning away? If so, sounds like it's clearing the page file.
     
  10. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Nope, hard drive doesn't do anything while it's on the saving settings bit.

    I read that the welcome screen could cause this, so I turned it off but it didn't make a difference, also it still even happens if I log in and straight back off without touching anything, so it's not because of using some or other program.

    I have also tried closing all programs before I log off, but that didn't help :(

    //Offtopic

    My page file is on about 700mb, I read all over OcUK that page file should be 1.5x your RAM so in my case 1.5GB, if I changed it would it help performance at all?

    Craig.
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2006
  11. Simmy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,234

    Location: Bristol

    I set mine to 3GB, but anything over 1.5GB doesn't appear to make much difference for me. I guess it depends what you do on your computer, but 1.5GB is ideal I would say.

    As for your original post, have you installed service pack 2? Hanging at shutdown was a known problem before the days of service pack 1, but should have been sorted now.
     
  12. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Yeah, I've had SP2 installed since the day it came out >.<