1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

scan to home server

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dsb, 17 Apr 2020.

  1. dsb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,399

    So due to working from home, both me and the GF have bought a xerox 3345 printer scanner, i have set it up to scan to SMB, which drops scans in a convenient location but i have to keep updating the ip address as it changes a few times a month i don't have a business line, therefore no static ip.

    Is it worth setting up a small home server, if so what do i go for, please bear in mind cost and will be setting up a ftp be the best option?

    i have been out of the IT game for years now and setting up the SMB was interesting so dont mind working it out if its not to trying.

    i would also like to use the server for photo backup up ect, we both use onedrive for work so thats also an option if i could scan to that location.
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,342

    Where's/what's this convenient location in relation to the scanner?

    Having a static IP depends on the ISP rather than whether it's a business or domestic connection. If you need a pseudo-static WAN address could you use a DDNS service?
     
  3. dsb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,399

    I'm with sky, we have an account each set up on the printer and the scans go direct to our PC which is ok other than having to change the ip settings every 5-6 days, we both scan a lot, some of it is sensitive personal info and i think if i could scan direct to work one-drive it would be more in line with current GDPR policy's. My laptop is work but hers is not.
     
  4. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,342

    So you're scanning over your LAN? (Which makes more sense).

    Having a static IP on your LAN has nothing to do with your ISP. You can either set on locally on the PC or, if the router allows it, set an IP reservation so the PC is always allocated the same IP address.
     
  5. dsb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,399

    yes scanning over LAN, all wifi.

    Do i set the IP reservation on the router? if so this makes life easier. (standard sky router)

    Thanks for the help
     
  6. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,342

    Yes, on the router. Most routers I've seen support it.
     
  7. Hellsmk2

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,378

  8. Rabtech

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,094

    Location: Preston, Lancs

    Either give your printer a static IP which is recommended or set the scan target to the hostname instead of IP.
     
  9. Mujja

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,766

    Location: Offline

    @dsb, if you are scanning to shared folders on your computers and the IP address of the computers keep changing have you tried replacing the IP address with the hostname of the computers? This will save you needing to set static IP on your work laptop, assuming you have Admin privileges to do so, and configuring DHCP settings on your home router.
     
  10. dsb

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,399

    Cheers, will have a play latter.