1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seen as it's not cheap to keep up

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WatchTower, 18 May 2006.

  1. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,431

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    I was just letting my mind wonder and started thing about daft stuff and ................

    Do any of you guys go oh well to keep up with the best cpus and graphics cards is really expensive so find something you can keep up with easier. I was thinking is there people that go for being a storage uber masters. :D Harddives don't seem to keep improving as fast as other thing so it seems like a cool thing to go crazy with. :)

    Do you know any storage nutters that have 1000s of Gbs of storage?
     
  2. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    I by no means have the record on here. I know some members have 1.7TB and over. At the moment I have managed to aquire a total of 723 GB, which is rapidly increasing, as im racing my mate to 1TB :)
     
  3. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,462

    Location: Brighton

    I currently have 360gb of storage and am going to buy a 250gb external drive
     
  4. Siders77

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 960

    Location: Yate, Bristol

    What the hell do you download?! I've had my PC for just over a year and a half now and I still have 26.8GB left on my 40GB HDD and 25.4GB left on my 80GB HDD.

    I don't think I'll ever be able to fill up all of it. :confused:
     
  5. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,431

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    Them WD Sata 16mb cache 500Gb harddrives look good value just under £190 I think they were last time I looked.

    If you like editing videos and so on I guess that can take up masses of space on a harddrive. I remeber when I used an analog TV card and I recored in uncompressed AVI I think it was and it was like 20Gb for a few mins of recording lol.

    Now I record DVB TV in mpeg 2 it's alot less storage hungery but if you record a full series of TV show you like again alot of Harddrive space will be needed.
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  6. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,276

    Location: Tosche Station

    Wait for poolybit to get here, he's got far too much storage. IIRC 3 x 500GB's and then a few more random disks.
     
  7. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Aye, but I wouldnt be happy having 500GB of data on a single drive without backup.

    @Siders77.. Films, mp3's, ISO's of all my CDs, loads of programs and games, college work, uni work, work work, graphics, photos etc... it all adds up.
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  8. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,431

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    I tend to back things up on my external harddrive. I only have a 320 and a 120Gb harddrive now I did have a WD raptor but it broke. Dam Sata brack easy :(
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  9. myriad

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 270

    It's not relevant because they are a photographer and need the disk space for storage, but I know someone with 3.5TB. Mostly made up of lacie external firewaire disks and a couple of 500GB internals.
     
  10. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    got myself 1.02TB across 5 HDD but they wont all fit in my case so im currently using just 860GB
     
  11. rpstewart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,742

    Location: Greenock, Scotland

    Yup, me! Currently running 10*250Gb as a 250Gb RAID1 array and a 1.75Tb RAID5 array. Plus another 250Gb external backup.

    See sig for why....
     
  12. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Great! Wanted to start a thread like this, but thought the politics would be too much – main issue being what people really store on their HDs to warrant the byte-size.

    That said, I’ve got 240GB (160+80). Using about 60%, but that’s because I’ve backed up some of the 160GB on the 80GB. Offline/elsewhere I have about 470GB on DVD-Rs & RWs :cool:
     
  13. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    Currently have around 330GB storage on my machine. 230GB on my main drive and 100GB on my backup drive.

    Planning to get a further 2 250GB drives. The 100GB drive is going [only PATA] and being replaced by the two 250GB. One will be used as additional storage and the other is replacement backup drive. Increased size to accomodate rest of the computers in the house. May also be buying a network drive so I can keep stuff like photos and music in one place everyone can access since at the moment my rig isnt always switched on.

    So I could be looking at 1TB overall storage :D

    SiriusB
     
  14. ramdor

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 May 2003

    Posts: 571

    I recently set up my home automation server (it runs windows xp atm). 3800+ x2, 2gbg ram, dfi ultra-d mobo, highpoint rocketraid 2320 (pci express), and 8 x Maxtor DiamondMax plus 400gb drives. All this sits in a Coolermaster stacker, with 2 hyper-R psu's.

    I had to set up two raid 5 arrays using the highpoint, then as I wanted a single drive in windows, had to join them with a spanned dynamic drive. Total drive space is ~2.6TB. I am planning storing my 300ish dvd collection on there.

    Richie.
     
  15. jbloggs

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,961

    Location: NI

    I have almost 550GB, made up of 4 HDDs, 2 x 74GB Raptors and 2 x 200 Seagate Barracudas SATA 7200.7.

    2 x 74GB Raptors in RAID0, very good for the video editing I do and for running games on, 2 x 200GB Barracudas (used as separate HDDs) used for storage and backup. :)
     
  16. Zacko

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2006

    Posts: 458

    Location: The Moon

    I'm just like Siders, I really can't fill up this 80 gig, maybe it's because I'm aware of the limitations and so don't get whole TV series' etc.
     
  17. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    Y'all not downloading enough pr0n either! :p Take ramdor's DVD collection for instance.... :D

    SiriusB
     
  18. kbc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    With the hard drive prices pretty cheap nowadays... I have at the moment 700GB of storage capacity, did have 820GB but dumped my 120GB Maxtor on an older machine and sold it.

    Currently have 2x 250GB SATA-II WD and 1x 200GB Seagate which is so damn loud... would like to replace it with another SATA drive and load Windows on it. :)
     
  19. jemz

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2006

    Posts: 147

    my server has 11 hdds that holds over 2.000gb on music vids in vob format thats just under 12,000 videos
     
  20. Adnan769

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Feb 2006

    Posts: 70

    900GB here made up of one 320GB WD, 2x 250GB WD SATAII and an 80GB maxtor for system and programs..... No backup though :p so once its gone, its gone.. :D