1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up cable internet prob

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by bustburr, 21 May 2006.

  1. bustburr

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 20

    I've just changed my operating system to windows xp pro 64bit, which has caused a number of problems.

    The main problem i have is setting up the internet, as i've found that windows 64bit doesnt support usb modems :mad:

    So therefore i have to connect my motorola surfboard 5100 via a cat5 cable to the onboard socket.

    I just cant seem to get a connection, am i being stupid???
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Tried switching the modem off, switching the modem on, waiting for the lights to settle down then hooking up the machine?
     
  3. bustburr

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 20

    err, no! i will give it a go in a bit. (running 2 operating systems on seperate drives so means i have to reboot to try it out)

    I have tried having the cable disconnected on boot then connecting it once windows is started and you don't get the 'new hardware added' BEEP! like when connecting it by usb.
     
  4. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Which won't do anything useful.

    That's meaningless. You won't get that even if it is working ok :p
     
  5. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,651

    Location: Wiltshire

    You'll need to power down the modem as it can only store one mac address. Changing from usb/ethernet or changing nic will need you to do this.
     
  6. bustburr

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 20

    cheers duke.

    I have had the modem permanently on!


    I wish computers could just speak to you, even if it just to tell you to "bugger off sticking things in me"
     
  7. bustburr

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 20

    YaY! :D

    So simple! Though i didnt know that the modem stored the mac address, I thought it was the computer.

    Cheers guys :cool:

    scrolling web pages is really really slow now tho, i'll have to do some updating!