1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shocking! (ok, it's another google video :p)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SB118, 26 Mar 2006.

  1. SB118

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,630

    Location: "Sunny" Plymouth

    Found this linked on another site, shocking :eek:
     
  2. Zip

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 20,224

    Location: Australia

    Only if Dave could produce that much Electricity and do that :D
     
  3. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,595

    Location: Swindon

    looks well kool!
     
  4. alexakasloth

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,790

    Location: Sussex

    Yes it is indeed 'shocking' :p
     
  5. penski

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 20,834

    Location: NE8

    Saw that a while back...Still can't decide if it's genuine or not :/

    *n
     
  6. Zip

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 20,224

    Location: Australia

    I would say it is. They do make giant electricity things like that when they get turned on.

    Im not an electrician or electrical engineer though
     
  7. LeperousDust

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Nov 2003

    Posts: 5,733

    Location: Edinburgh

    Read this feasible explanation somwhere else:
    And here is a 345Kv switch opening :)

    //Edit: In fact for all your big electricity spark needs check here!
     
    Last edited: 26 Mar 2006
  8. Oracle

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,971

    Location: Haskins

    Yup, that is exactly what happens when switches that size open....i've had the 'unfortunate' experience of working on a 400kV one! :(

    Theres a fair delay before the switch is clear...
     
  9. Jotun

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 3,606

    Location: Liverpool

    That sort of only happens when it's opened under load, which shouldn't be done really as it can wear down the contacts. I think I remember reading somewhere that it was caused by a fault, but I thought most switches were submersed in oil anyway.
     
  10. Forbidden

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Jan 2005

    Posts: 628

    That real?
     
  11. deano

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,261

    Location: Kidderminster

    It's normal for HV switches to be switched in oil (up to 33kv) when on load but in substation compunds and in remote places "air" is the prefered insulator as it's cheaper :) and dosen't require looking after. Also substation oil switches for 11kv can be closed on load/faults, this is when you have a long piece of string so that you are standing out of the substaion when you close the breaker in on the load / fault. In remote locations it's normal for the breaker to close in upto about 6 times automatically just in case it's a transient (sp) fault.

    on 11 and 33kv Mast switches should not be closed in on faults, for saftey reasons, however on 11kv nowadays you have smart fuses and links which work in fault conditions.

    cheers
    Deano