Should I bother implementing OAuth authentication, noting the security issues?

Associate
Hello everyone!

It's been a while since I've posted in HG&P, I hope you're all well.

I'm just starting out on a new project and as always, security is the first thing on my mind. I've got the standard user registration / login sorted out and I was also considering adding in Social Authentication via HybridAuth to let users sign in with their Facebook / Twitter / Google / etc account.

I then stumbled across web articles like http://www.breaksec.com/?page_id=6002 and others claiming that there are massive security holes in OAuth2.

My key question is, are there any security issues for me as a consumer of OAuth2?

Thanks in advance :)

Soldato
I don't know specifically about the security holes, but personally I find having to create an account with a specific site a massive PITA and will make me look elsewhere. Just being able to click a 'Login with Google account' button is a massive plus for any services and will get you more users IMO.

Associate
OP
Thanks for the replies both.

The design route that I've chosen will cater for both 'Registered' users and 'Social' users. Making it easy for people to 'login with google' but also allow people to create a new account if, like me, they don't want to let 'random website z' have access to their precious facebook photos.

My concern is more around whether my app is exposed in any way by allowing 'social' authentication. By the sounds of it, it's not, so I'll plow on regardless and be ready to comment out code if someone comes up with a showstopper :)

Soldato
From reading those articles, the holes lie in FB (or whoever the OAuth provider is), so your site would be safe. All you're doing effectively is passing them the user credentials, and they give you a yes or a no back.

As said DJ said, the best way forward would be to offer local and remote authentication.

fez

fez

Caporegime