1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shucking a WD elements external drive for Synology

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by cyber69, 8 Jul 2020.

  1. MrFunex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,128

    Location: Southampton

    Doesn’t appear so, but do keep an eye on Hot UK Deals... Also, a price tracking website like CamelCamelCamel can email you with an alert when the price drops. Happy shopping!
     
  2. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,690

    Location: Earth, for now

    ^^^ Thanks, set up my alerts now.
    Seems that this is the year of alerts, rather than stock..!

    With the "limitations" of drive bays for my N54L I'm edging more towards higher capacity shucked drives. Let's see what Monday brings.
     
  3. lawnpot

    Associate

    Joined: 20 Aug 2020

    Posts: 18

    there is a 8 TB mybook for £129.99, £16.2/TB

    and WD 10 TB Elements Desktop for £149.99
     
  4. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,690

    Location: Earth, for now

    ^^^ Thanks for that. I paid £149.99 for the WD Elements I have just shucked, see my posts above.
    At around £15 per TB seems a reasonable price to pay for an External but at £13.75 per TB is a very good price, as was the 12TB Elements.

    There is a Seagate 8TB for £109, nice price and I'm still deliberating on that one. £13.62 per TB. Deliberating as I would like the 10 or 12TB options.
     
  5. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,055

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    My news NAS is up and running, just copying data across which is gonna take a while ;)

    Had a bit of a headache with some mini SAS cable didn’t realise you need SATA (host) to SFF-8463 (target) cable, I just though it’s was all the same!
     
  6. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,690

    Location: Earth, for now

    lol I bet that it is going to take a while....! It took me a while to almost fill the 10TB disk.

    Well done with your new build.
     
  7. randal

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2006

    Posts: 12,808

    Last edited: 30 Nov 2020
  8. DavyMac

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Dec 2020

    Posts: 1

    I’m in the process of upgrading my Plex server which has no raid at the moment and running 6x4tb reds. Looking to run an separate NAS to back up the other server and already shucked 2x12tb enterprise and got white drives.

    In sales bought 2 more to shuck and got 2 x 20TB WD My Book Duo for £350 each, they had 2x10Tb reds. The top pops off and drives lift out easily.
     
  9. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,055

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    14 TB WD Elements available for £189.99 today, rumble in the Jungle ;)
     
  10. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,690

    Location: Earth, for now


    got one of those delivered yesterday, very nice to :)
     
  11. shaf

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Sep 2007

    Posts: 1,142

    My finger was on the trigger for that yesterday, luckily I resisted. :D
     
  12. pc-guy

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 3,710

    Got my 14TB WD elements today - £13.5/TB. Shucked and it is White drive.

    Required molex to SATA connector to power up.

    It is a lot quieter than my Ironwolf which it is replacing.
     
    Last edited: 18 Dec 2020
  13. randal

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2006

    Posts: 12,808

    So a straight forward SATA power connector won't work?
     
  14. pc-guy

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 3,710

    Depend on your PSU. Mine is a pico psu. So I have to power it from molex. New PSU should be straight plug and play.

    the drive is 5400rpm. If that bothers then maybe wait for the Xbox WD D10. But I find 5400rpm drives are really good for NAS or compact builds. Less noise and way less heat.

    my Ironwolf was running at 43c peak. Where this drive atm is only 37c peak.
     
  15. randal

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2006

    Posts: 12,808

    Mine will be an EVGA 500W ATX PSU, standard affair. 5400rpm is perfect, it's going in a NAS build so ideal for what I have in mind.

    Just debating 2 or 4... logic says 2 as I'm only running a 12TB usable array at the moment and 2 would give me the same capacity with redundancy and 4 less spindles... but then I'll have to migrate the data down the line. Arg, wrong side of Christmas!
     
  16. pc-guy

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 3,710

    Raid 6 for 4 drives?

    large raids using this sort of capacity disk will probably result in something failing during raid rebuild if one of the drive fails or the NAS bay is dodgy (qnap).
     
  17. DeliciousStorage

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2019

    Posts: 307

    It will if you put a bit of kapton tape over the 3rd pin.

     
  18. randal

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Oct 2006

    Posts: 12,808

    Fair, I'm used to 3TB drives in a Synology so this is my first foray into larger storage drives. What would be your suggestion? I'm building a machine to consolidate NAS/server so I have 4x3.5" bays at my disposal.

    So that's a must on these drives? I've read that some previous WD drives needed this treatment.
     
  19. MrFunex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,128

    Location: Southampton

    Depends on the age of your PSU/NAS. My Synology DS918+ worked fine without any pin mods...

    Just plug the drives in. If they work, great! If not, then perform the quick mod. :cool:
     
  20. pc-guy

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 3,710

    depend on your storage capacity 4 disk usually do either 10 or 5 to get max capacity. For 4 bay stick to 6-8tb drives.

    If you really want 14TB drives I would stick with 10. Faster and you have at least 1 drive redundancy. You get 28TB.