1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shuttle takes ages to power on ?

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor and Single Board Computers' started by Sneaky Peaky, 18 Feb 2006.

  1. Sneaky Peaky

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,499

    Location: Farnborough, Hants

    My Bro has a shuttle and for some reason it takes ages to switch on. You press the power button and then nothing - about 30 seconds later the lights will come on and it will boot up as normal.
    Rebooting is fine - just a problem when starting up..

    Has me stumped - any ideas ?

    Cheers Guys
     
  2. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 351

    Maybe a faulty power switch, I carnt think of enything else that would delay the power getting to the MB to power it up?
     
  3. lolwtfbbq

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2005

    Posts: 420

    The power swich cable not connected to the motherbord properly :)
     
    Last edited: 19 Feb 2006
  4. gavindo

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2004

    Posts: 369

    Location: Kent

    umm my sb75g2 does this, ive even tryed changing the psu.

    least im not the only one.
     
  5. JaPe

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 40

    Location: Telford

    Hi,

    My shuttle takes 30 seconds to power on, but only after it has been powered off at the wall. All other times, it boots fine.
     
  6. Toytown

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2003

    Posts: 321

    My shuttle does exactly the same, if powered off from the mains. Always thought that it was a dodgy motherboard/powersupply.........lol, didnt realise its kinda normal.
     
  7. ParadoX

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 27

    I had this same problem. I replaced the psu and all was fine. I needed to upgrade my 200W psu anyway to a 300W due to the arrival of a 7800GS
     
  8. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    mine does something similar but not quite. basically if you turn it off at the wall with the mains, then back on, it just turns on, black screen etc. however if you turn it off (press and hold hte power button) then turn it on again, its fine.

    infact thinkin bout it, it must be the same problem. its just that ive never left it long enough to see if it does start up as i remember black screens on boot up from my overclocking with my SN45G. if it rebooted after changing settings in the bios and displayed a black screen (like my SN85G4V3 does without tinkering in the bios), it usually ment it didnt save them properly and you had to restart it.

    its a strange problem and only does it when its turned off at the mains. not too much of a problem for me as its usually plugged in, but still
     
  9. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,656

    Location: Guernsey

    I had this problem twice with my sn41g2..Both times was the psu.(one standard 200watt and one silentx 250watt).
     
  10. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    ive tried 3 different psu's and its the same with them all (200watt, 240watt, 250watt)
     
  11. Acathla

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2003

    Posts: 182

    Location: UK

    Just a quick warning! I had this problem for a few months, thought nothing of it. The other day power on and POP.....then the unbearable smell of a blown up PSU.
    Luckily, I had just moved everything across to my new system, so gonna get a replacement psu for this one and use it as a media centre...
     
  12. Toytown

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2003

    Posts: 321

    Mines been behaving like this from the day i got it. I thought it was broke, when the unit arrived as it wouldnt power on. Its been like this for 2 and half years now.
     
  13. ps2wizz

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 449

    Location: Nottingham

    i think you need a new power supply ASAP
     
  14. Orzek

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jun 2004

    Posts: 23

    My old athlon shuttle has started doing the same for the last few months. The intervals between pressing the power switch and it turning on has been getting longer and longer. Recently I have discovered what was causing it or part of the reason. I have an external USB2 TV tuner connected all the time to the box. The TV tuner is small enough that it runs on the power from the USB socket on the shuttle box.
    When I switch on the shuttle box I then disconnect the TV tuner briefly which results in the box powering up immediately. Either the power supply is getting overloaded or it is starting to fail. When I added the TV tuner originally the box had no trouble powering up.
    So check if you have any USB peripherals that draw power from your box as that might be part of the reason or the power supply needs changing or upgrading.