1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple Msoft word question.

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by eLbot, 14 Jul 2006.

  1. eLbot

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 749

    A friend just sent me this screenshot (with most of the content blanked out) and is asking how he gets his toolbars back. I’m stumped any ideas?

    [​IMG]


    I’ve got a small inkling this is a prank and he’s wasting my time but I thought I’d ask you guys first before making a fool of myself.
     
  2. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    lmao! First of all punch the paperclip in the ovaries.

    If it's a prank then that's pretty funny. If not then he may just need to reinstall word as he doesn't even have the top menu bar and I don't think you can completely remove it on any normal install (not on my version anyway).
     
  3. |Ric|

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 895

    Could try running "winword.exe /a"

    (Start->Run-> type in above without quotes)

    That will repair the registry apparently

    Ric.
     
  4. |Ric|

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 895

    Also, apparently reinstalling/repairing word from the install doesn't change any of the registry settings so this would not fix the problem

    that sounds kinda crazy, but who knows :confused:

    1 last thing - this is seemingly quite common in the original word 2000, update it with a service pack and it shouldn't happen anymore
     
    Last edited: 14 Jul 2006
  5. eLbot

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 749

    Thanks Ric, the /a command fixed it.