1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Single GX2, Is this classed as SLI?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Black Dog, 30 May 2006.

  1. Black Dog

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,758

    Location: Reading, England

    I'm quite interested in a GX2 but I have a few questions.

    1) Will a single card be detected as an SLI setup?

    2) Will a single card work on a non-SLI motherboard?

    3) Will you have to load SLI profiles to use a single card? or will it play games as a single card?.

    Cheers. ;)
     
  2. Goody_GTI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,487

    Location: Nottingham

    no is the answer to all of those questions (apart from 2!), basically it is two graphics cards - seperate gpu's and seperate ram - on one card, so can be used in a system that has only one gpu slot to basically give it a sli equivalent setup, otherwise could be used in a sli setup which would therefore be quad sli (4 gpu's)
     
  3. Black Dog

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,758

    Location: Reading, England

    ok cheers. :cool:
     
  4. kleox64

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2005

    Posts: 404

    yes-technically its not a single card.
    no-you still need an SLI mobo, in any case its locked down in the drivers.
    yes-its SLI so all other rules still apply.
     
  5. mosfet

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,152

    Location: London

    I don't believe this is true.

    Firstly, the 7950 at least, doesn't have SLi connectors, so can't be used in an SLi setup.

    [​IMG]

    I also believe that it can't be used in non-SLi boards, from what I've read.

    Finally, there's no need for an apostrophe in simple plural abbreviations or acronyms.
     
  6. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,503

    Location: Canterbury

    Can someone who actually knows if you need an SLI mobo for the GX2 cards please post a source because 50% say you dont and 50% say you do need an sli mobo.....
     
  7. pinkacidbootson

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,001

    Location: Rhone-Alpes, France

    Of course it can, otherwise how would quad sli be possible? You just cant see the sli connector in this pic because it is on the other pcb.
     
  8. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,503

    Location: Canterbury

    From what I read, quad sli is not supported at launch on the 7950 GX2.
     
  9. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    at launch generally doesnt mean never :rolleyes:
     
  10. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,503

    Location: Canterbury

    Yeah so maybe there will be revisions to allow quad sli. Where did I state that there will never be quad sli GX2's?
     
  11. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 26,904

    Location: Rutland

    They do have an SLI connector (as said, its on the other PCB behind the one in the pic), the reason quad-sli isn't supported currently is purely driver issues.