1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky cable extention?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by dokko, 17 Jun 2006.

  1. dokko

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Nov 2005

    Posts: 3,789

    Location: Doon the Bay (Newcastle)

    Hi guys, need some help.

    I need to move my sky box across to the other side of the room and need to extend the cable (that goes through the wall (from dish) to the back of the Sky box) by about 7-8 meters.

    I've been looking around and cannot find anything, i must be looking in the wrong places.

    Could someone tell me what this cable that i'm looking for is named, and if possible where to get some?

    Many thanks.

    Steven.
     
  2. IceAx

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 5,822

    Location: Warrington

    these can be bought its justa run of Co ax with the right
    connectors on (F), or you can make your own up!

    Andy
     
  3. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Get some WF100 coax cable and 2 screw-F connectors and a F coupler (sometimes called a barrel).

    I imagine that if you phoned up a local sat installer they would make up the cable and pop it through the door when they are next in your area for the cost of a drink. :)

    EDIT - Crimp connectors are better but I doubt you want the expense of a crimp tool for a one off cable.
     
    Last edited: 17 Jun 2006
  4. IceAx

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 5,822

    Location: Warrington

    Tesla wanna nip round mine and change my LNB :p

    Andy
     
  5. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    It's not quite a "nip" to warrington is it. lol.
     
  6. IceAx

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 5,822

    Location: Warrington

    LOL knew that was coming, im just gearing myself up to get up the ladders :(

    Andy
     
  7. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Your dish cannot be that high can it?

    Make sure you take note of the skew of the LNB, that is really the rotation of it.

    Also, if the LNB differs in sive (maybe it's bigger and therefore moves closer to the dish) it may need adjustment.

    You should be ok though.
     
  8. dokko

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Nov 2005

    Posts: 3,789

    Location: Doon the Bay (Newcastle)

    Right, nice one cheers.

    I'll contact a local TV-Sat company next week and just ask the same to them, least i know its not hard to find, must have been looking in the wrong place!

    Ta.
     
  9. IceAx

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 5,822

    Location: Warrington

    Its not that high really, im just too warm to go and
    and start messing round running feeds in!

    Skew is set up already, as for size they are
    pretty close, just a case of suck it and see!

    Have 2 spare quads to try anyways :D

    Andy
     
  10. IceAx

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 5,822

    Location: Warrington

    All sorted here, but boy is it hot :D

    Andy
     
  11. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Trust me, doing Sky installs in the cold is not nice. You cannot feel your hands!