1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Small issue moving from TripleHead2Go to Eyefinity, Help Please

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Supertaff, 19 Feb 2010.

  1. Supertaff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,053

    Hi All,

    I've just moved from a triplehead2go digital set up and gone to an eyefinity set up using a ATI5970.

    I have a small problem though in that when I start the PC up I get an error on one monitor statin the refresh level is not supported. If I remove the display port connector and re-plug it in everything then works fine.

    I've removed all of the Matrox software using remove software and have in Catalyst control panel the eyfinity set up and set at 60hz.

    I think the issue is that with triplehead you had to run it at 59hz to work and there is probably a setting still left which is telling the one monitor to still run at 59hz.

    Running Catalyst 10.2 drivers.

    Anyone have any tips for this issue?

    Regards

    Taff
     
  2. FredBasset

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 216

    I've made the same swap this week, no problems here and I did not remove the Matrox software as I've read reports of the Matrox bezel management working with Eyefinity.

    I'm using the active adapter from sapphire, another difference though is that i have a custom inf file for my monitors giving 76hz.

    Regards
    Fred
     
  3. Supertaff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,053

    Hi Fred,

    I'm also using the active adapter.

    Can you tell me what inf file you are referring to? Is this something that's used by catalyst control centre.

    Also prior to the 5970 where you using another ATI card or were you using an nVidia card?

    I was using a 4870X2.

    regards

    Taff
     
  4. FredBasset

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 216

    Hi Taff

    I was using an Nvidia GTX295 before.

    The inf is a new driver for the monitor, I have Dell 2209WA's and these can do 76hz with a modified driver, its not related to ATI's CCC.

    Regards
    Fred
     
  5. Scooby-DoobyDoo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,127

    Location: Portsmouth

    Ive just made the leap form an Nvidia with triplehead2go digital to a 5850. I was hoping to use my th2go to set it at 5040x1050, but cant seem to select that resolution with the ATI Drivers.

    Seems I might have to sell the th2go and get a active displayport adaptor. Starting to wish I had kept my GTX now.
     
  6. unknownsock

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,691

    Location: Leeds, UK

    I presume you already have a displayport somewere, via adapter or native connection?

    I've noticed this with recent drivers, nothing i cant live with though.
     
  7. Scooby-DoobyDoo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,127

    Location: Portsmouth

    Hi no just using the th2go plugged into the graphics card like I had on my GTX.

    Thinking I might have to sell my TH2go and get a sapphire display port adaptor. If I can find one in stock.
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2010