1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

smallest powerfull psu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mattius, 4 May 2006.

  1. Mattius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,092

    Location: Edinburgh

    I have a hyper media case for my media center pc, but the powersuply thats included doesn't seem powerfull enough to run the equipment in it. so i figure i either need to rebuild it with lower power components which isn't really an option. or find a powersuply which will fit in the case or even an external one. the current one is only 200w, i figure i need at least 400w.

    does anyone make an external powersupply?
     
  2. rpstewart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,742

    Location: Greenock, Scotland

    There are some about but tricky to find. The XG Magnum was the only one Google kicked up but it looks like an ATX PSU in an external box, you need an ATX sized hole in the back of the PC to fit the blanking plate which carries the cables into the box,
     
  3. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,900

    What's the current spec of the components you've got at the moment (including the 12v/5v ratings of the PSU) as I would have thought you'd run out of space in the case before you run out of power?
     
  4. Mattius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,092

    Location: Edinburgh

    its an AMD 64 3200 with a MSI RS480M2 motherboard, maxtor 200gb hard disk, lite-on laptop dvd writer, hauppage PCI 250 pvr tv card, 512mb DDR 400 ram.

    PSU Reads:
    AC INPUT
    100-240v, 4a, 60-50hz
    Max, Output Power 200w
    (+3.3v &+5v = 61w max)
    (+3.3v &+5v &+12v =180w max)

    DC Output
    +3.3v ---16.0A(org), +5v ---12.0a (red) +12v---12.0A(yel)
    +5vsb---2.0a(purp), -12v---0.8A(blue)

    I can only put its completely random performance down to either a faulty motherboard or not enough power. It crashes all the time, with different things happening each time you start it, some times it works sometimes it don't.
     
  5. Yaka

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,928

    Location: a dark place

    shuttle do a 300W one for thier xpc range, shame oc.uk dont sell em
     
  6. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,784

    Location: London

    200 watts should be fine for those components.
     
  7. Mattius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,092

    Location: Edinburgh

    i've sussed it isn't now the psu, i plugged my 400w psu into it and still the same although it runs faster.
    seems to have a serious graphics problem being unable to display difficult graphics i.e. windows desktop.
    im so frustrated, safe mode doesn't work, windows setup doesn't work.