1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So... my copy of XP isn't genuine

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by nikebee, 7 May 2006.

  1. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    just performed an XP upgrade and have now been told my copy of XP isn't genuine... horray for me.

    i'm (supposedly) using XP Pro here, and have now been told i can't upgrade/update windows any more until i use a genuine product.

    so the money i spent on this copy of xp has gone to waste... :rolleyes:

    rediculous question but the copies OcUK sell are proper copies (despite them being OEM obviously)... and whats the main difference from Home to Pro?
    shall be shelling out for which ever is cheaper/more suited for me...

    is there anyway i can *convert* my "fake" copy of XP into a real copy after purchasing a legit copy? i don't particularly want to format and lose most of the stuff on my raptor :(

    suppose i should have created a small windows only partition and the problem would have been solved from the get go... hey-ho nevermind.
    don't suppose there is any way i can do this now (without borking up XP)?

    cheers for the advice/help
     
  2. PinkPig

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,535

    If you've been told by the Windows Genuine Notification program that your version of Windows isn't legal, then if you buy through that then you get, it seems, a full retail license for Windows (ie, unlike the OEM, can be transferred between PCs), and you get given instructions immediately on how to convert your installation. I think it also runs a check that your install is generally valid.

    If you buy elsewhere, then it's also still usually possible to change your key, there's a Microsoft article explaining how.

    And, of course, OEM versions sold through OcUK are legal, though they're redistributed OEM copies rather than retail versions, and can, by the license, only be installed on one PC (and not transferred).
     
  3. Beans on toast Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2004

    Posts: 4,282

    Location: Telford

    can you backup all your files then do a fresh format then install, best way to do imo
     
  4. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    no promotion of warez or piracy please
     
  5. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    emailed your trust addy :)
     
  6. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    i did notice this, but i'm not paying £90 for XP when i can purchase an OEM version for £50 :p

    yeah i've got my raptor (74gb windows) and my seagate (120gb storage/backup) so it wouldn't be too much trouble... it's just the hastle of having to reinstall everything and then copy all the files back over :o
     
  7. The_KiD

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,342

    Location: West Yorkshire

    If you bought the copy you have now and didnt know it was illegal at the time, then you should be able to contact MS and you tell them where you got it and they should change it for a legitimate version.
     
  8. joroma

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Mar 2004

    Posts: 649

    Location: Dorset

    This has happened to me. I would recommend following the MS link and buying XP PRO at their offer price of £92. While it is dearer than the OEM Version it is actually the Retail Version and also MS sends you a link to a tool that allows you to validate your current counterfeit version without having to do a reinstall. I took the view that the extra few quid was easily compensated by the above and went ahead with the MS order. The Product Key and Update tool were emailed too me within 2 days and everything is now hunky dory and I can access all the MS downloads and support too!!
     
  9. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Problem is, why pay for XP when Vista is just around the corner?
     
  10. Shoseki

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,172

    Location: Brighton

    Why pay for XP when Linux is about 800 times better...

    /stirring
     
  11. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    do a fresh install but when you update, manually select updates not auto-all select, and dont select gma. problem solved. its about 800k
     
  12. The_KiD

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,342

    Location: West Yorkshire

    Personally I wouldnt use Vista till it has been in mainstream use for at leats 6 months
     
  13. PinkPig

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jun 2004

    Posts: 3,535

    If you want to use Windows XP now, then you don't have any (legal) choice. Plus, if you want to get Vista straight away, you'll be able to use an upgrade version.
     
  14. decmatt

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 May 2004

    Posts: 3,724

    Location: East Yorkshire, UK

    Just wondering was it the software that tells you that its fake, or the telephone operator?
     
  15. R@tman

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 780

    Location: Wakefield


    im gonna agree here


    keep away for 6 months
     
  16. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    just round the corner is mid 2007?

    wow.

    also vista sucks, unfortunatly i cant think of another non abusive term to say, but it hogs memory, eats cpu power, makes a high end system look pathetic and has enough drm and monitoring stuff to sink an e-ship
     
  17. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,539

    Location: Southampton, UK

    *Waits for NathanE to disprove those comments*

    Burnsy
     
  18. Slam62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7,709

    Location: Monaco

    Well i cant wait for vista, i'm sure its going to be very very secure and very good plus i can play halo 3 on it, plus it will have transparent sort of glassy windows.

    Oh and i think its only fair that ms insist you buy a new oem copy because you upgraded a £50 plastic board.


    honest guv

    does the ps3 really use linux ;)

    ps did you know you had a pirate copy or did you buy it, if so what sort of emporium, pub, computer fair, car boot sale.....just out of interest.
     
  19. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    :D In this case I don't think it's even worth correcting him. I mean clearly he is like living on planet Mars or something...
     
  20. Slam62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7,709

    Location: Monaco

    umm what are the vista sytem requirements then....