1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Socket 939 to get X2 5000+ and FX62

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Minstadave, 29 May 2006.

  1. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 26,899

    Location: Rutland

  2. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    im more intrested in the "enerdy efficient" chips

    and the way there not much more tha the normal chips :D
     
  3. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 26,899

    Location: Rutland

    Yeah I want an Energy Efficient Small Form Factor version, don't think they're coming on S939 though. They're like 35W iirc so should be some pretty decent silicon and see some nice clocks with the volts ramped back up.
     
  4. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,026

    Location: leeds

    good news for us people who don't want to upgrade any time soon
     
  5. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Sorry for the n00b question, but what will these run at?
     
  6. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    2.8ghz.

    There are Opterons now that run at 3ghz stock (2xx and 8xx series).
     
  7. cymatty

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 13,305

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Wow they could be rapid if they are good clockers eg 3.2-3.4ghz. :D
     
  8. Turbanation

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2005

    Posts: 788

    Location: London, UK

    sweet i might save up for FX62 if that is the case
     
  9. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    For the price of that FX62 (£750) you could buy an E6600/Conroe, DDR2 RAM and a decent mobo to thrash that FX62 :D
     
  10. Mr Jones

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 May 2006

    Posts: 11,334

    Location: Dubai

    That's why people overclock opterons/X2s... they can reach FX62 speed easily with decent cooling.
     
  11. Scoobie Dave

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 16 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,901

    Location: Plugged into the Matrix

    They certainly do :D
     
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,676

    Location: Autonomy

    I'm already at FX 62 speeds :p
     
  13. deadeyedic30

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,545

    Location: Too Far from a good woman

    With a bit of luck they will knock a lump off the existing X2 prices when they come out. :D
     
    Last edited: 30 May 2006
  14. ray

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 329

  15. Mr Jones

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 May 2006

    Posts: 11,334

    Location: Dubai

  16. fatty1

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 485

    Yup they just want us to spend even more money on an upgrade :(
     
  17. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186