1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Someone to confirm something!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Beenom, 30 May 2006.

  1. Beenom

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 899

    Location: W. London

    Hey guys, just need confirmation about something. One of my friend ordered this graphics card, XFX GeForce 6200A 256mb DDR2 AGP VGA/DVI/TV-out. Now he has a Dimension 4600, which doesnt use a DDR2 motherboard? Basically im wondering if the DDR2 graphics card that he ordered, will it be incompatible with his Dell Dimension or not? Thanks in advance guys :)
     
  2. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,562

    Location: N.Ireland

    The memory on the graphics card has nothing to do with the ram on the motherboard, so as long as his mobo i AGP, it should be fine :)
     
  3. fatmas

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 409

    Location: Swindon

    no. The memory on the card isn't connected to what the board can handle.
    For example I have a 6800GS with DDR3 memory. My board is a Socket A which is obviously only DDR.
    Its just the memory that is used on the Card.
     
  4. Beenom

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 899

    Location: W. London

    Sweet, thanks UKDTweak :) I can tell him to stop worrying now, think he's lost some hair!

    Edit: And you fatmas!
     
  5. fatmas

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 409

    Location: Swindon

    Beat me to it....
     
  6. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    hehe, theres always one aint there !
     
  7. Beenom

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 899

    Location: W. London

    Don't worry he still gets my thanks :D