1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Somethings using all my processing power

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by KingOfAquitaine, 14 Jul 2006.

  1. KingOfAquitaine

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 312

    Not quite sure where to put this, so decided may as well be here.

    Since today (as far as I am aware) my PC at mimimum activity (only messenger and a browers) is running at 68-100% CPU usage and i have no idea why. explorer.exe is using 50% of the cpu, sounds like some kind of virus to me but I can't find anything.

    Don't really know what to do, any advice, suggestions??
     
  2. calnen

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 4,063

    Location: Chester

    Should probably be in general hardware btw.

    But yeah, I'm not sure. Possibly a virus, possibly a program has broken. Adobe reader makes my pc chuggy sometimes.. maybe its something like that?
     
  3. KingOfAquitaine

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 312

    Like I say, nothing else is running (well apart from the usage monitoring program), doing anything causes a huge spike in use to 100%, usually runs at almost 0%

    Bit worried really
     
  4. Severin

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Apr 2006

    Posts: 9

    check to make sure its not a duplicate, ie- theres another explorer.exe on there, the real one, and this is a fake ername bit of spyware or something, close it and if windows breaks then its probably the real one :p
     
  5. Bes

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,304

    Location: The Ghetto: AKA Brixton

    CTRL ALT Delete- Processes- sort by CPU % :)
     
  6. TomTomTom

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 812

    could be buggy IE plugins, ActiveX progs.
     
  7. KingOfAquitaine

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 312

    Only thing apparenytly running is explorer, and ending that makes the desk top disappear ^^
     
  8. me227

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,387

    Location: Belfast/Edinburgh

    End it, then go to File-New Task

    And type in explorer

    Your desktop will come back and then see if it continues to take up so much resources.