1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sound skipping problem using Dolby Digital Live

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by rjhurst, 10 Jul 2006.

  1. rjhurst

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Oct 2005

    Posts: 17

    I own the 'Asus P5WD2 Premium Intel 955X (LGA775) PCI-Express Motherboard'. I use the motherboard's on-board sound (Realtek HD Audio) and connect to a Sony A/V receiver using an optical cable.

    When I play sound with the 'Dolby Digital Live' button on, it sounds great, but every few seconds, the sound skips. (My A/V receiver then re-scrolls the 'Dolby Digital 3/2.1' message.) It's very annoying when playing MP3's which I often do.

    If I turn the Dolby Digital Live feature off, the sound does not skip at all but the quality is just not quite as lively. I am making do with this for now.

    Just wondered if anyone has come across this problem before? I have updated the Realtek drivers. Changed sound modes in BIOS between AC97 and HD Audio, etc.

    I simply want to be able to have Dolby Digital Live turned on without any skipping!
     
  2. rjhurst

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Oct 2005

    Posts: 17

    So it seems no one has experienced a problem like this then? Nevermind, although I was thinking maybe I could resolve the problem by buying a soundcard with the Dolby Digital Live feature? Would be a shame that I'm not using the convienient on-board sound though. I only use it for playing MP3's/music!
     
  3. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,472

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    its not skipping exactly, its loosing sync by the sounds of it. how is it connected up? if its co-ax and not optical then i can only suggest trying optical if you have the socket for it, or trying a proper 75ohm digital cable.

    If found i sometimes get the same problem now i'm using a cheap 10m rca cable from my pc to my av amp. I never used to have the problem when using a shorter lead, but i cant be bothered to replace what im using lol
     
  4. rjhurst

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Oct 2005

    Posts: 17

    Many thanks for your reply. I was using a fibre-optic cable between my PC and the A/V receiver. Have also tried out a digital-coaxial cable but the problem is still there. I've ordered an 'HDA Digital X-Plosion' sound card now so will steer away from on-board sound.
     
  5. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,127

    Location: Intel HQ

    im uisng that soundcard, deffinatly the best ive ever used :D

    Have you tried updating the drivers for the soundcard?
     
  6. rjhurst

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Oct 2005

    Posts: 17

    Hi, you're right... the HDA is great! It was delivered to me earlier this week and has solved my out-of-sync/skipping problem!

    I had tried updating the drivers for the on-board Realtek previously with no luck, but for the HDA, i'm just using the drivers that came on CD so far. I should probably check the net for newer ones! I'll do that now. :)
     
  7. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,127

    Location: Intel HQ