1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spark Plugs

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Gilbretto, 14 Sep 2009.

1. Gilbretto

Hitman

Hello,

I wanna pop down to the local mechanic to get him to change my spark plugs changed. I have bought the spark plugs already so no need to pay for them.

Just want to know how long it takes for a mechanic to change a set of plugs so i don't get ripped off?

Thanks,

Gil.

2. malfunkshun

Soldato

honestly, it is the second simplest spanner job you can do to a car. Do it yourself :)

3. Conscript

Sgarrista

It took me about 15-20 minutes to do mine. And Im just a ham fisted amateur.

4. 998cc

Mobster

Do them yourself!

5. numnutz

Hitman

It's easy enough to do yourself, but an indy mechanic shouldn't charge you a lot really, It's normally a 15minute job but a mechanic will probably want 30mins labour unless you can just tempt him with beer money.

6. Matt82

Capodecina

15 mins. even if they bother to use a torque wrench and do it properly, which they wont

7. Biohazard

PermaBanned

I never bother with a torque wrench for the plugs either.

8. osc89er

Wise Guy

I'm thinking about doing the plugs myself in the near future. What is the correct way to tighten them without a torque wrench? Hand tight, then a quarter/half turn?

9. LizardKing

Sgarrista

Me neither but it is good practise, especially if its a alu head! :)

10. Matt82

Capodecina

alu heads with tapered plugs really dont get done up tight at all, so im not suprised when i see those ford zetec threads with spark plug issues

11. Biohazard

PermaBanned

most cars are alu topped these days, do it by hand till its tight. never had any problems other than clearing out threads on dirty heads.

12. Mark A

Capodecina