1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec check please!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by airdrawn, 3 Jun 2010.

  1. airdrawn

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 61

    I need to spec a system for a mate who has a budget of no more than £425 tops. He wants to be able to play games such as BF BC2, what do you think to the below spec? He already has a decent PSU and Case.

    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Retail (Full Version) £92.99
    (£79.14) £92.99
    (£79.14)
    Patriot G Series 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Dual Channel (PGS34G1333ELK) £88.99
    (£75.74) £88.99
    (£75.74)
    AMD Phenom II X2 Dual Core 555 3.20GHz Black Edition (Socket AM3) - Retail £84.99
    (£72.33) £84.99
    (£72.33)
    Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3 MA770 (Socket AM3) DDR3 Motherboard £72.99
    (£62.12) £72.99
    (£62.12)
    Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5570 1024MB GDDR3 PCI-Express Graphics Card
     
  2. wilko49

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Mar 2010

    Posts: 833

    5570? for gaming? mate, needs a better graphics card, a 5770 would be more realistic... which would put you at £470

    also, you have not specced a hard drive.

    less than £500 is a very tight budget for a DDR3 system, consider getting more cash before you order
     
  3. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    do you need a hdd, dvd drive and an aftermarket cpu cooler?

    +1 for the 5770 atleast
     
  4. airdrawn

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 61

    My friend has DVD drive, hdd and cooler that he intends to continue using. I'll recommend he drop the OS (he has Vista) and go with a 5770.

    What about the mobo, ram and CPU?
     
  5. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    does he need a case?
     
  6. wilko49

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Mar 2010

    Posts: 833

    I've never used Patriot RAM before, but the rest of the stuff looks fine. AFAIK, the cooler will not fit unless it has an AM3 bracket - what cooler is it?
     
  7. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    sorry had to re read the op

    This then!
    [​IMG]
     
  8. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    then after a while you can get an aftermarket cpu cooler, if he can now though it might be an idea to spend a little extra on a board than can do crossfire incase he wants to put another 5770 in to the mix later on.
     
  9. airdrawn

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 61

    Cooler is an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro. Which mobo is he wants to xfire, and if he decideds not to xfire is that mobo ok if he decides to OC or should he spend a few more quid?
     
  10. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    if he has extra cash id always say go for the best you can get now, the cpu and gfx card are where you want it and ram is fine, id change the mobo to something like this..

    Asus M4A785TD-V Evo

    Review Here
     
  11. airdrawn

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 61

    Dane, thanks!

    Final spec

    AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 955 Black Edition 3.20GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail £135.99
    (£115.74) £135.99
    (£115.74)
    Club 3D ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card £124.98
    (£106.37) £124.98
    (£106.37)
    Patriot Viper 4GB (2x2GB) PC3-10666 1333MHz Dual Channel (PVS34G1333ELK) £88.99
    (£75.74) £88.99
    (£75.74)
    Asus M4A785TD-V Evo AMD 785G (Socket AM3) DDR3 Motherboard £74.99
    (£63.82) £74.99
    (£63.82)
    Sub Total : £361.67
    Shipping cost assumes delivery to UK Mainland with:
    DPD Next Day Parcel
    (This can be changed during checkout) Shipping : £9.50
    VAT is being charged at 17.50% VAT : £64.95
    Total : £436.12
     
  12. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    what psu is he using?
     
  13. airdrawn

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 61

    PSU is a Corsair TX 650W ATX SLi Compliant Power Supply, i presume this is ok?
     
  14. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    yeh thats good