Spec check please

Associate
Hopefully pulling the trigger tomorrow morning when the sales start :cool:
If you look at my signature you can see this upgrade is long overdue, built this rig back in 2006 :rolleyes:

WC Loop

PC

Total: £1,747.83
(includes shipping: £23.10)

I am aware that the 2 radiators won't fit in the case - that's not the plan :D
Unfortunately the pump/res combo won't be in stock for a week hence the cheapo air cooler to tide me over - I think I'd go mad staring at my new rig for a week unable to power it up!

I'm not sure about the PSU, is EVGA a decent brand and is 750w enough for this rig? I'm going to overclock the CPU and I may upgrade to something equivalent to a 980Ti in a year or two so ideally I'd like some spare capacity.

I'm completely new to watercooling but I think I've got everything needed for a CPU only (for now) loop.

Apart from the above are there any issues that stand out or cheap improvements?

edit: Forgot to mention the above might change slightly depending on tomorrows offers :)

Last edited:
Soldato
Will need some fan splitter cables or a fan controller for all the fans although would get some SP ones that will be better for the radiators.

If it's purely for gaming then spending £215 just on RAM and £205 (tomorrow price of GPU) seems a little silly to me! Especially when compared back to DDR3 which can be had @ 8GB for £35 ha!

Unless you want the light in the res I wouldn't bother and get a bitspower and separate pump to save money and allow to mount the res better (depending on how you've planned your loop).

Rest looks OK, as long as you have enough fittings, would probably get some rotaries or angled fittings to make the loop easier to create and look out for a CPU/Mobo bundle to save some money there as well.

Wouldn't bother with a in-line sensor, just adds wire clutter and doesn't tell you much IMO again. Where will the second radiator be going? 750W is more than ample, 550w would be fine and yes, EVGA are good.