1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a £300 HTPC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by spudbynight, 9 Apr 2010.

  1. spudbynight

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,775

    Location: Hove, UK

    My friend has asked me to build him an HTPC and he has about £300 to spend.

    He is going to run XBMC on top of Windows 7. He will only be using this as a PVR and a media player so no need to spec something for games. I do need to get a freeview tuner card for him which will nudge the price up. As a positive though I have a full Windows 7 licence I am giving him which will keep that cost down. I want this to be as quiet as possible.
     
  2. spudbynight

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,775

    Location: Hove, UK

    Thnking of something like this :

    [​IMG]
     
  3. hooj

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jan 2003

    Posts: 552

    Location: Southampton

    Is the tuner support in XBMC working now? Last I checked it still had some way to go.
     
  4. spudbynight

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,775

    Location: Hove, UK

    No, going to use Windows Media Centre.

    I would have installed Mythbuntu for him with XBMC on top of that but Linux still isn't ready for non geeks.
     
  5. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    Something like this:

    [​IMG]

    Maybe stick with 2GB of ram rather than 4 to lower the price enough to get the tuner card. Guess you wont want the wireless card the mobo only has 1 PCI slot.
     
  6. spudbynight

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,775

    Location: Hove, UK

    I was thinking of 2GB of RAM but I couldn't see any cheap 2GB ram on OC.

    I will actually need wireless so I might need to select a different mobo. Good spot!
     
  7. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    You could use dLAN instead of wireless. Something like this. More reliable but more expensive...
     
    Last edited: 9 Apr 2010
  8. mattjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 2,052

    Location: Malvern, England

  9. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    I dont think that case supports miniITX does it?

    If you need 2 PCI slots it looks like it might have to be uATX. Going to be more expensive I think.
     
  10. spudbynight

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 6,775

    Location: Hove, UK

    That case doesn't come with a PSU which will up the cost a bit.

    I wan't to stay away from an Atom as this PC will also be used for HD playback with BBC iPlayer and Flash acceleration is flakey at present and doesn't work with downloads.
     
  11. eddyc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,105

    I reckon go for an athlon uATX build in that case.