1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a calibrator for my NEC EA231WMi

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by peteruk, 31 May 2010.

  1. peteruk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,013

    Location: Nr. Norwich, Norfolk

    Hey everyone,

    Recently I upgraded from a string of TN panels to my current NEC EA231WMi and have been sufficiently impressed with the colour accuracy to date. However, I've been asked to photograph a pair of weddings over the Summer, and as they are both good friends, I want to make sure that the prints resemble the last degree of my editing, so I think a calibrator would be a wise investment.

    I'm looking for something that's solid value, but not neccesarily cheap. I'm spending a fair amount on new lenses and equipment for the occasion so in the scale of things it's not a huge expenditure, but on the other hand I don't want to burn money getting one that's twice the price but only a teensy bit better.

    I'd appreciate your thoughts OcUK gurus! :):)

    Thanks,
    P.
     
  2. JEL8

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2008

    Posts: 113

    Location: Lake District U.K

  3. Baddass

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,121

    Location: UK

    i'd recommend the X-rite i1 Display 2 device, which can be paired with many software packages for very good results :)
     
  4. peteruk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,013

    Location: Nr. Norwich, Norfolk

    These two both seem the best bets but the X-rite is currently winning me over by reviews by the smallest margain. It's just a shame that there appear to be fewer X-rite uses and so very little second-hand availability.
     
  5. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,737

    Location: South Coast

    How do you mean fewer X-Rite uses? I've had mine for several years now and it's been used fairly heavily on each monitor i have owned or have used/tested!

    2nd hand though they're hard to come by purely because they're so good and nobody ever needs to get rid of them :p

    edit: please don't offer licensed software
     
  6. peteruk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,013

    Location: Nr. Norwich, Norfolk

    Ah I see! After looking on forums and websites the number of people who claimed to have experience of any type of Spyder seemed much greater than the X-rite.

    snip
     
  7. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,737

    Location: South Coast

    I've had Spyder before too :p

    I think most people just get a Spyder because it's more readily available and more common among users. The X-Rite costs virtually the same but has remained the better colorimeter all these years!

    Lacie's Blue Eye Pro software uses the i1Display2 as its probe. Lacie (when they get round to it) can send you a link to the software like they did with me ages ago and I just email them asking for updates every few months.

    The Lacie software makes the best use of the Display2 and provides the most accurate calibration as well as reporting.

    Most good review sites will be using this software to review monitors pre/post calibration as well :)
     
  8. Baddass

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,121

    Location: UK

    please keep in mind that the LaCie software is licensed and comes at a price, so please dont offer to distribute it
     
  9. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,737

    Location: South Coast

    Oh I didn't realise that. When I checked during my contact with Lacie the software wasn't for sale, it was the probe (which comes with the software) and since it's the exact same probe as the i1display2... :)

    I suppose anyone who does want it just send a support email to Lacie and ask for the latest Windows version, I'm sure they'll be able to help again.
     
  10. Adrianr

    Soldato

    Joined: 3 Feb 2008

    Posts: 5,460

    Xirte i1 paired with Color Eyes Display Pro if you can stretch for the extra software. It's pretty much the best of the low end bunch with everything taken into account (useability, accuracy, multi monitor support should you require it, etc).
     
  11. PCM2

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Feb 2010

    Posts: 6,770

    Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

    Did you find out if you can get the software seperately?
     
  12. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,737

    Location: South Coast

    Was I supposed to?!

    If people do want it just contact Lacie and say you're looking to update to the latest version of blue eye pro. They have live links they send out.
     
  13. PCM2

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Feb 2010

    Posts: 6,770

    Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

    Sorry - not you specifically. Just a few people have suggested using LaCie software with other devices, but I'm still not convinced you can acquire LaCie software on its own. They make by far the best colorimeter software (in my opinion). I have some other probes lying about that are not LaCie ones and I'd love to know if I could acquire the software on its own.