Spec me a Network Switch

Soldato
I'm looking for some advice regarding buying a network switch.

I have recently purchased a house that a previous owner had installed network cable throughout (a mix of CAT5e and CAT6). This all links into a central network cupboard containing the master phone socket and a rack with a patch panel and network switch. The switch unfortunately is only capable of 10/100 Mb/s. I'm looking for a replacement for this switch to give Gigabit speeds. I have an Unraid server and use Plex to serves media to devices around the house.

I'm looking for something with a bit of room for expansion, the current switch and patch panels are both 24 port. Although not all of them are in use. I'm planning on using my existing Netgear D7000 modem / router. I would like something that is not overly complex to setup and get working, I have some experience of using a managed Netgear switch but very little beyond that. Finally would like to add some IP CCTV cameras at a later date so PoE would be nice to have but is not essential. Are there any go to recommendations?

If anyone could point me in the direction of something that would fit my needs I would be grateful. I'm not overly flush with cash ATM due to said house purchase so anything that can be found second-hand would be appreciated.

Man of Honour
It doesn't sound to me you need a managed switch so a 24 port rack mounted unmanaged gigabit switch would do the job? Something like the Netgear GS324 or JGS524 (or GS348 for 48 ports but not sure who would fill that!) for example.

Soldato