1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a router for my o2 connection

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by peter212693, 18 Feb 2010.

  1. peter212693

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,691

    Location: Southport

    Hi all,

    Currently using the awful o2 wireless box II. Was looking for a new router.

    Dont have loads of money to spend, just want something reliable. I had a DG834GT but been having loads of routing problems with this like most people :(


    Thanks
     
  2. anything I don't mind

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Dec 2009

    Posts: 13,054

    Location: london

    i use pfsense, stable.

    you can install it on a computer with two network cards. if you need wireless then just buy netgear. although i wouldn't buy netgear myself.
     
  3. Locky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,651

    Location: Leicestershire/Derbyshire

    what do you mean by routing problems?
     
  4. peter212693

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,691

    Location: Southport

    Have a quick google for "o2 loss of routing problem" there is loads about it.
     
  5. Locky

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,651

    Location: Leicestershire/Derbyshire

    You can spoof the MAC from the o2 router to sort out any routing problems.
     
  6. peter212693

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,691

    Location: Southport

    I tried that :( no luck with it tho
     
  7. Awahwah

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,028

    Location: Dark Side of the Moon

    If using a Netgear rtr with a Broadcom chipset you will need to telnet to the rtr and enter the following commands:

    echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/neigh/nas0/ucast_solicit
    echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/neigh/default/ucast_solicit

    Remember that these will need to be applied after ever re-sync or reload.

    You will also need to add the following firewall ruleL

    - Service type: BOOTP_CLIENT
    - Action: ALLOW always
    - Send to LAN Server: 192.168.x.x
    - WAN Users: start = 82.132.253.0 finish = 82.132.253.254
    - Log: Always

    Change the xx's to your rtr's IP Address.

    Your cook ok with these entered.