Spec me : functional gaming ~700

Associate
Hiya, first post and I'm new to this so let me know if I'm not giving enough info.

I want a PC that is able to run new and current games, but I don't care about being at maximum visual settings, it's just being able to play it that I care about. I have a group of friends who play a lot and I don't really care how it looks as long as I get to play with them at a playable fps. Most common games would be: Dota 2, Guild Wars 2, heroes of the storm, ESO, minecraft; and those can be played by very low-end pcs. However, my friends are always picking up new games so I'd want to play those too. If there's a tried-and-tested set-up that's maybe a little bit outdated by the newest hardware, but could still play new games on low-mid graphics, that fits my bill just right.

I would also like to prioritise a stable set-up with low maintenance, that might sound silly but I hear about my friends' pc components giving out now and then, which I guess is unavoidable to a degree.

My job sends me on flights a lot so a low weight would be great too but that's really being quite nit-picky so don't mind it too much.

The budget is around 700 but I could push up to just over 1000 if really necessary, if you can go below that's great too obviously. The budget will include only the PC itself and it's case; excluding the monitor, OS, mouse, and other accessories.

Thanks a bunch!

Associate
My basket at Overclockers UK:
Total: £1,003.49 (includes shipping: £12.60)

The PC should be fairly small and light, but you can get much smaller with a mini-ITX system.

The current issue with mini-ITX motherboards for Ryzen is scarcity and price - most are £110+

Storage is a bit low, a 1TB HDD could be added but that would be further above budget.

Here is a much smaller GPU (with UK RMA) if you did want a much smaller system:
Total: £388.69 (includes shipping: £8.70)

Last edited:
Associate