1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec my mate!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Runningkid, 26 May 2006.

  1. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    okMy mate would like to up grade his computer, so this is what he needs:

    Mobo (must be PCI-E)
    CPU
    RAM
    HDD (150gb at least ...)

    His budget is £200, is that possible? Also he know hes wants and AMD, but i know the AM2 has jsut be realeased, how are they looking?

    thanks :D

    EDIT- Also he will be building in his Dell dimension case (yes super cool :rolleyes: ) , now is taht a mATX case or a normal ATX??
     
  2. jr_123

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 21 May 2006

    Posts: 9

    Location: UK, Lincolnshire

    He is going to struggle for £200, make it £350 and I got a nice spec.
     
  3. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    hmm ...... i think £350 is pushing it too much , he sed 250 is max...
     
  4. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM)
    £72.79
    Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 (Socket 939 & Upgradable to AM2) AGP & PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-002-AK)
    £43.42
    OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-004-OK)
    £56.34
    Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 NCQ 160GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (0A31637) (HD-001-HI)
    £50.47

    Total inc VAT: £223.03

    Overclock that and you have a winner for that price!
     
  5. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Impossible, especially considering this...
    Apart from that, what else does he have: GFX, keyboard, etc?
     
  6. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    yea have PSU, graphics card and everything else, jsut need the mobo,hdd,ram and CPU
     
  7. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Then you can not go wrong with that :)
     
  8. sinisterelbow

    Associate

    Joined: 22 May 2006

    Posts: 92

    Further to hp7909, i was under the impression that Dell used non-standard cases and PSU's. Is this not the case? Is that what you're alluding to?
     
    Last edited: 26 May 2006
  9. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Nice little AM2 rig :)

    CP-162-AM AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1.80GHz (Socket AM2) - Retail (CP-162-AM)
    £66.95 £66.95
    MB-145-AS Asus M2NPV-VM Micro ATX (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-144-AS)
    £59.95 £59.95
    MY-000-PA Patriot Signature 1GB (2x512MB) PC5300 667MHz DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (PSD21G667K) (MY-000-PA)
    £55.95 £55.95
    HD-025-SA Samsung SpinPoint P HD040GJ 40GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-025-SA)
    £25.95 £25.95
    Subtotal £208.80
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £8.25
    VAT £37.99
    Total £255.04
     
  10. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    You may need a new case and psu, depends if he has a dell specific one
     
  11. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    pretty good, thanks :D

    he changed it to some generic one coz he added a PCI graphics card, toa 500W , would that be enuff?
     
  12. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    sorry for double post, any 1 know how these AM2 3000+ performs?
     
  13. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    the AM2 performance is comparable to the same named 939 chip, marginally quicker but nothing you'd notice.

    HOWEVER the advantage of going AM2 is that you get the current, therefore longer supported, socket.
     
  14. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    oh ... so would this be a bottle neck, if say ... he got a 7600GS or something?
     
  15. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    It won't really be a bottleneck as you should be able to overclock the venice (bare in mind that nobody has a clue about how AM2 motherboards overclock atm)

    I'd also consider a larger hard drive if you prefer BigDom's AM2 spec which is more future proof and upgrade-able. Bare in mind that AM2 holds a 1% performance gain over socket 939, so a 3000+ venice on the new socket AM2 will be perform virtually the same as a 3000+ venice on the mature socket 939 :)
     
  16. Runningkid

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 523

    ok cool, but how about the DDR2 ?? is that much faster than the normal DDR??

    i will try and persuade him to get a smaller HDD ...