1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Specs a business desktop where cost is not an issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lankor, 8 May 2006.

  1. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    hi,

    can you specs me a desktop, that is mainly use for excel and other office tools.

    Cost is not an issue; speed, reliability and style are of the uptmost importance. Will not be playing games

    thanks

    lankor
     
  2. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,884

    Location: England

    Excel? I dont think cost would be an issue there :p Just get the cheapest pc you can get.
     
  3. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

  4. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,316

    Location: Plymouth

    If you want a business desktop then buy a pre-configured PC from a company with support SLAs and so on...surely don't put it together yourself :confused:
     
  5. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    is large comptated excel file and will be running multiple software on the computer. cost is really not an issue as it is for the MD and just want the best performance.

    look for a good and reliable 939 motherboard. (require recommendation)
    AMD's Dual Core Athlon 64 X2 4400
    raptor 74GB
    Using some existing ECC ram from server (spare) 2 *512
    A graphics card with dvi and vga (require recommendation)
    Case (require recommendation)
    PSU (require recommendation)
     
  6. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    have in house IT team that will setup the computer

    generally, those pre configured computer do not give same amt of performance or style as required.

    tks
     
  7. Ender

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2006

    Posts: 570

    Still, i think a setup like that is overkill for excel related activities, i mean a pIII is easily capable of running it, consider getting a cheap dual core pentium 4 if you think multitasking will have a detrimental effect. As for graphics cards, most have both ports - something like the x800 would be fine i think and is priced around 40 pounds.
     
  8. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,884

    Location: England

    I dont think ecc ram works in s939.
     
  9. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,316

    Location: Plymouth

    Ok, you got me on the style bit :D
     
  10. Sparky191

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Dec 2005

    Posts: 790

    I would have thought a large screen is more important when it comes to excel.
     
  11. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    already got 2 * Dell 20 inch widescreen

    got few asus a8n deluxe here and can take in ECC ram
    otherwise, will get some cosair ram
     
  12. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    to be quite honest mate, your taking the mick :eek:

    round not going to see any advantage of a raptor over a regular HDD in windows use (not to that extent anyway)...

    CP-151-AM AMD Opteron UP 165 Dual Core San Diego 1.8GHz 2MB Cache (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-151-AM)
    £204.95 £204.95
    MB-079-AB Abit UL8 ULi M1689 (Socket 939) Motherboard (MB-079-AB)
    £24.95 £24.95
    MY-005-OK OcUK Value 512MB (2x256MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit (MY-005-OK)
    £24.95 £24.95
    HD-051-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB ST3808110AS SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-051-SE)
    £30.95 £30.95
    GX-027-LT Leadtek WinFast A340TD GeForce FX 5200 256MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-027-LT)
    £33.95 £33.95
    CA-000-RB OcUK Value Rainbow Series Case Silver With 350W PSU (CA-000-RB)
    £19.95 £19.95
    CD-057-LO Liteon SHM-165P6S-01C 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Beige) - OEM (CD-057-LO)
    £22.95 £22.95
    CA-000-XP X-PRO 400W Silent Power Supply (CA-000-XP)
    £37.95 £37.95
    Subtotal £400.60
    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £9.95
    VAT £71.85
    Total £482.40

    if you must have dual core, get the opteron instead... cheaper than the 4400+ and performs just as well.
    really no need for 1GB of memory, you could probably make do with the stock PSU as well tbh... but even that spec for an excell and workstation pc is rediculous....
     
  13. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    what do you think of this setup?

    Lian-Li PC-6070 PLUS Silent Aluminium Case (No PSU)
    ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe - Mainboard - ATX - nForce4 SLI - Socket 939 -
    Processor - 1 x AMD Athlon 64 3700+ / 2.2 GHz - Socket 939 - L2 1 MB - Box
    Sapphire ATi Radeon X300SE PCI Express 128Mb Lite-Retail Boxed
    Corsair 2GB DDR XMS3200C2PT TwinX (2x1GB) CAS2 (MY-079-CS)
    Raptor 75GB

    Samsung SH-S162A/BEBN 16x16 Double Layer DVD-Rewritable OEM (Black)
    Enermax Liberty 500W ELT500AWT ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU (CA-025-EN)

    would there be any compatiability issues?

    we have some maxtor diamondmax 10 compatibaility issues with asus nforce 4 board

    thanks
     
  14. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    case fine...
    don't bother with the SLi motherboard, too many features that you wouldn't use in a workstation pc...
    a 3200+ would probably be just as good (thought you wanted dual core anyway :p)
    2GB of ram... for excell and office based apps.... what is this pc really for? are you taking over the world or something?
    raptor... quick yes, but again... really needed for office based apps...??? a decent SATA drive, or even a couple in a RAID array would be the same performance for similar (read: less) price.
    500w overkill?
     
  15. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,014

    IBM Thinkpad T42 with 2GB.
    Docking bay for T42
    Keyboard and Mouse - select at your leasure.
    NEC MultiSync 20WGX2

    The T42 will drive the 1680x1050 screen :D

    Sorted.
     
  16. lankor

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 154

    hi,

    it is for the MD and hence funds is not an issue.

    tks
     
  17. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,316

    Location: Plymouth

    I bet the noise of a Raptor would be, though.

    Go for a quiet PC...in other words don't go for the heat monsters that are speedy CPUs. I run some 'old' 2.8Ghz P4 here with the fan on 70% and it's lovely. I can tell you nothing annoys me more than a noisy PC when I'm trying to concentrate :)
     
  18. Sparky191

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Dec 2005

    Posts: 790

    Sounds like you already know what you want TBH.

    Any MD I've worked with cost was always an issue.
     
  19. Tomsk

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,221

    Location: Overground, underground..

    Shouldn't the IT people also be specifying the pC?