1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedtouch 330 not initializing USB port?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Scottland, 17 Jan 2006.

  1. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,210

    Location: North Wales

    I've got a small problem with this system. When the system starts, the Speedtouch tray icon is trying to sync up (yellow icon) and both lights on the modem are solid green.
    It doesn't alter from this state, Dr. Speedtouch can't detect the modem.

    If I unplug the modem, and plug it back in again all is fine. Line sync's up, and we're away.

    The problem seems to be between the Drivers, the Modem and Windows USB. It doesn't appear to be initializing the modem properly at startup.

    I'm using the latest drivers from the speedtouch site, although I have to use the Extended reach ones, as the line isn't stable with the normal ones (it's a long line, but this isn't the cause of the problem).


    Does anybody know the solution to this problem? I've reinstalled a number of times, and tried the modem in different ports to no avail.

    If it makes any difference, there are multiple (4) user accounts on the system, so it is booting to the logon screen not straight into Windows.


    Cheers
     
  2. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,210

    Location: North Wales

    Bump.


    Anyone?
     
  3. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Goto options for the USB root hub that the modems connected to and goto the power management tab and make sure that the option to turn off this device to save power is un-ticked.
     
  4. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,210

    Location: North Wales

    Ok, I'll give that a go thanks.
     
  5. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,210

    Location: North Wales

    Ok, I've disabled the option to turn off device to save power but the problem is still there.

    Any other ideas?


    Cheers
     
  6. OllyM

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2004

    Posts: 6,192

    Location: New Jersey, USA

    Probably not what you want to hear, and probably not that helpful, but I'd recommend just getting an ethernet router, and ditching the USB modem - it'll save you a load of headaches as (apart from the ethernet interface) no drivers are required.
     
  7. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Thats an option, but I would recommend to try using a mains powered usb hub with the modem first.
     
  8. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,210

    Location: North Wales

    I will be replacing it with a router at some point, but I did want to sort this in the mean time. Cheers