1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSD is slow...

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Guest2, 28 Sep 2009.

  1. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 16,233

    Think ill wait a bit and get a DDR SSD (or 2 and RAID 0 them if possible)

    It fires up Windows XP in 2 seconds from the splash screen to the desktop with nForce4/5 Mobos. It fires up Windows 2003 Server in 2 seconds (although in both cases it is hardware polling and device driver timing loops that take up most of that 2 seconds). So it is "instant on" and gives you an "instant desktop".


    http://www.hyperossystems.co.uk/07042003/hardware.htm#hyperosHDIIproduct
     
  2. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,190

    wow, how dumb, firstly these have been around for ever, they aren't solid state.

    Essentially SSD's are useful because they KEEP THEIR DATA WHEN TURNED OFF. DDR, does not keep its data, its an always on device. People have had Ram drives for ages, Gigabyte had an i-ram years ago.

    How much was ddr2 at its cheapest, £30 for 4GB, so a proper memory drive will cost you £480 for a 64gb ddr2 ram drive, which offers very little real world performance.

    doubling your hard drive speed, doesn't, in ANY way double the speed of your system, 98% of what people do on their computers aren't hard drive limited, hence a double to 10 times faster HDD offering minimal game loading performance increases.

    Thats before you take into account the systems that can use them basically have to be always on systems, that HAVE to have battery backups, which won't last long and a single power outage will wipe ALL your data making it fairly useless.

    Its also not instant on or instant OS desktop, your cpu still has to do things, load drivers, drivers have to process requests and to things, yes it will load fast, but it will barely increase performance for most things.

    The majority of things you do that are HDD limited, like recording uber high def video or editing/manipulating high bit rate data of any kind, will run into massive size limits to any DDR based hard drive, which makes them fairly useless anyway.

    Should you want you can create a ram drive, install a game on a ram drive, run it from there, and see almost no performance improvement at all. You either save your ramdrive image to a mechanical hard drive when you shut down or lose the data, meaning when you reboot and want to play the game again, you either load the image from disc, which will take a while anyway as it has to load the ENTIRE game image to ram before it can load the game, or you install from scratch.

    They are impracticle, expensive, not reliable in any way and offer no performance improvement to 99.9% of users. They've also been around for, 5-10 years, before flash drives were available and no one had them, because they were pointless.


    EDIT:_ You do of course realise that the box is £299, WITHOUT memory, up to a max of 64gb of ddr2, which would set you back a further £500. Infact they sell dimms for £20 for 2gb sticks, so thats £160 + £299 for a 16gb ddr drive thats

    Then who doesn't want to be 3x faster at booting, and clicking around the desktop and opening firefox in 1 instead of 3 seconds, woo hoo. For a 64gb drive, considering it only has 8 memory slots, you'd need 8GB sticks, considering 8GB sticks are like, I dunno closer to £200 than £20, you're looking at probably almost £2k to make it a full 64gb drive, to make your desktop faster at clicking around.

    EDIT:- the cheapest 8gb stick I've found so far, is £370, so thats only £3259 to make a 64gb ddr2 drive, wow, you almost sold me on that.
     
    Last edited: 28 Sep 2009
  3. capriboy1978

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 May 2009

    Posts: 1,699

    Location: Derbyshire

    best read all day, very informative. Someone ought to offer the OP a hot sweet cup of tea before they lapse into shock :p

    I used to use RAM drives back in the days of my amiga 1200 when hdd were slow small and very expensive. That said 4mb of RAM cost me £150. That was something like 15 years ago.
     
  4. Audigex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    Ram disks are very handy for certain applications (stick photoshop's swap file on there and it flies) but as drunkenmaster says, they're no good for use as a hard drive.
     
  5. OrphanBoy

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jan 2005

    Posts: 641

    Location: Laaaandan

    I use a RAM drive at work when programming. Keep your object files there and link on that drive too - link times are much much better...
     
  6. sturmtruppe

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Feb 2009

    Posts: 571

    Location: Hinckley

    Not really worth the electricity if you just use as an extra hdd.
     
  7. reygjabla

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,653

    Location: London

    4 x 128 GB SSD in Raid O is a lot cheaper than that. Might be a bit slower but, at least, your stuff stays there even if you turn your PC off.:D
     
  8. Saundie

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,994

    Location: London, England

    That's a fascinating figure, would you mind sharing your source?
     
  9. Zarf

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jul 2007

    Posts: 2,527

    Hyperdrives rely on a battery to keep the data, lose power for 3 hours and all your data is gone, unless you drop another £300 on a 64GB compactflash card.

    A fusion IO drive is a much better option for that sort of money - bigger, non-volatile, much higher throughput, and they even have higher IOPS than that drive.

    For datacenter environments you can't beat a RAMSAN performance wise, but it's not viable tech in the home.
     
  10. Ease

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Dec 2008

    Posts: 629

    I'm never putting something in my computer that relies on a AA battery...
     
  11. Nate Silvers

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,665

    Location: Hull, East Yorkshire

    Wow is the OP for real
     
  12. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 16,233

    I only skim read it and posted here as it sounded interesting
     
  13. namnoc

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Dec 2005

    Posts: 575

    Location: Felixstowe

    That's cheap, I paid the same for a 192k RAM disk for my BBC Micro in 1984.
     
  14. ChileanLlama

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2007

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: Leeds

    Oh!!! It sounded like you'd made a purchasing decision with your first post - maybe you hadn't thought it through, or otherwise money is no object on an item you've not researched (£6,518 on a pair of these for 128gb in RAID0) ;)
     
  15. capriboy1978

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 May 2009

    Posts: 1,699

    Location: Derbyshire

    :) those were the days. These young uns don't know there born :p

    oh an ouch btw, looking back I htought my 4mb ram / 68030 daughter board (£400?) was expensive. Do you still have it? My amiga won't run with the daughter board in, it was prob borked when machine was vandalised, so i'm thinkin of incasing it in resin and hanging it on the wall...
     
    Last edited: 2 Oct 2009