1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSD RAID Issue?

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by kemistry, 20 Sep 2013.

  1. kemistry

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 406

    Location: Hull, East Yorkshire

    Hi, for a while now ive had a crucial c300 and m4 (64gb) in RAID working fine, however yesterday I experienced several crashes of windows explorer leading to BSOD's. The PC was overclocked, however i have since run it at stock and the same issue seems to be occurring. Windows seems to slow to a halt before the crash. On reboot the PC will go straight into the BIOS. Temps are fine, and all programs seem to say both SSD's and the RAID are fine. After exiting the BIOS the PC will boot normally. Is one of the SSDs on its way out? Im yet to format as I wanted to do it as a last resort.

    PC Specs

    2600k (Was at 4.2, now at stock)
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4
    8gb Kingston HyperX
    1x C300, 1x M4
    GTX 570
    Corsair 520 psu
     
  2. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    use ssdlife on the m4 to see howmany hours use it has and what fw version

    there's a common 5400 hour bug that causes freezing/crashes and is fixed by flashing to the latest firmware
     
  3. kemistry

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 406

    Location: Hull, East Yorkshire

    I cant seem to use SSD Life on either as they are in RAID, any way around this?
     
  4. kemistry

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 406

    Location: Hull, East Yorkshire

    Both SSD's are on the firmware they came with. Definite advice to change then!
     
  5. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    not sure with raid,but deffo flash the m4 to latest fw then see how it performs

    ohh you can look in the intel rapid storage driver console to see the m4's fw

    [​IMG]

    mine's different ssd but should show all drives fw
     
    Last edited: 20 Sep 2013
  6. kemistry

    Gangster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 406

    Location: Hull, East Yorkshire

    Yeah both are on 002, i shall update them. Cheers!
     
  7. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    post back with results