1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Starbound - adventure, terraria graphics designer ( INDIE )

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Neil79, 19 Feb 2012.

  1. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    Just in time for the wipe :p

    Unfortunately I'm pretty much out of patience in terms of keeping an eye on the update stuff and I also want an early night. At this point I may end up vegging out and then sleeping.

    No doubt the instant I stop checking on it the update will come out but..yeah.. Apologies if that happens.
     
  2. Afran

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2008

    Posts: 757

    wru patch
     
  3. kthula666

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 2,075

    Location: Aberdeen

    patched

    restart steam fixed it

    goodbye saves and diamond pickaxe :(
     
  4. Dave****

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Apr 2009

    Posts: 2,943

    Location: Near Manchester

    Colour me annoyed (koala).

    I like that the betas have names. :D
     
  5. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    Updating the server now
     
  6. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    Up and running. Enjoy the new characters and universe :)

    Please leave some trees around on the starting planet :p
     
  7. kthula666

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 2,075

    Location: Aberdeen

    ooo good ill pop on once I grind some starting mats
     
  8. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    Starting Planet Deletion

    Please be aware that the starting planet may be deleted a couple of times. This is basically to ensure that there is enough fuel on there for new players to escape. It also will help if we get any awesome griefers.

    Not ETA for this sort of thing at the moment but basically just be aware that stuff on that planet could be removed without any warning.
     
  9. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,083

    Location: On Ocuk

    Cool I'll be on tonight
     
  10. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,083

    Location: On Ocuk

    Update 3

    HUGE balance patch, every item, creature, armor and weapon rebalanced. Leveling system entirely rewritten

    Although the balance is early the new leveling system, the system is much better than the old one and we can

    now improve balance over time.

    - Added early implementation of creature taming (more features coming soon)

    - Added new mining items

    - Added new weapons

    - Added new throwable items

    - Added grappling hook

    - Added new boss and new sector of the galaxy

    - Added a stance system to weaponry, not currently used but will allow us to

    add secondary attacks to weaponry very soon.

    - Tons of new sounds

    - Guns more common in tier 3

    - Underground detached/rare biomes more common

    - Underground random encounters more common

    - Underground chests more common

    - Ore rebalance (probably way way too much ore at the moment, will be fixed later, enjoy it)

    - Baby monsters

    - New monster palettes

    - Added pixel compressor for high cost banking (idea from Ncrpts)
    - Disable using the beamaxe to light caves underground

    - Added new hats

    - some monsters now graze on grass (can look ugly, needs finishing)

    - Small bipeds now socialise with eachother

    - All the monsters behave smarter and are less likely to get stuck

    - You can no longer attack through blocks

    - Fix the game on XP (hopefully)

    - Tons more fixes and smaller additions
     
  11. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    As some people may already be aware, the balance is pretty massively out of whack in many cases now. I imagine we'll get another update shortly that will improve this.

    In the meantime, enjoy being OP.
     
  12. Dave****

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Apr 2009

    Posts: 2,943

    Location: Near Manchester

    When I joined my friends server we each had our own starting planet.

    How come this is not the case for you?
     
    Last edited: 10 Dec 2013
  13. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    You can set a default starting planet for players so you all start together.

    In the last patch I had this enabled. Now I think about it, I actually forgot to re-enable it this time so it's possible that everyone will have their own planets as you say.

    Just something to be aware of. If everyone has their own starting planet then there should be no need to delete/reset them.
     
  14. Dave****

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Apr 2009

    Posts: 2,943

    Location: Near Manchester

    Ahh I see, said the blind man.

    For what it is worth, I think it is a good idea to each have their own planet. It will avoid that trap being set that was posted above for a start and it is simple to get to each others starter planet just by making a party and beaming to the other persons ship before then beaming down.
     
    Last edited: 10 Dec 2013
  15. cHk4

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 21 Jun 2005

    Posts: 8,709

    Have they fixed the 3D Printer duping and the ship duping yet? We reported it like but not sure if fixed and can't test as I'm at work -.-
     
  16. theonejat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Dec 2012

    Posts: 1,696

    Been watching Bwana on twitch this morning and all the craftable weapons were like 5k-6.5k DPS, said they were broken.
     
  17. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    Yeah, as I said above, there are major balance issues at the moment. I imagine we'll get a quick patch quite soon which will improve the situation (and further ones down the line to fine-tune things).
     
  18. maxilive

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Jun 2008

    Posts: 4,125

    The game no longer seems to load on my work PC anymore! It just seems to sit on "Loading" :( There goes my lunchtime fun :p
     
  19. LeJosh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Sep 2008

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Edinburgh.

    Do we have to start a new world for the patch to take effect? I still had all my gear.
     
  20. Dave****

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Apr 2009

    Posts: 2,943

    Location: Near Manchester

    FrenchTart, where in the server files do you change it so each person has a different starter planet?

    Because I just rented a server and it seems its default is that everyone has the same planet and I can't figure out where to change it.