1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steam. Why does it have to 'verify install' each and every time it's started?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Malevolence, 18 Apr 2017.

Tags:
  1. Malevolence

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2011

    Posts: 15,122

    As per title. The only thing I can find after much searching is that it's because Steam hasn't been shut down correctly. I do shut it down correctly though.
     
  2. clubb699

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2011

    Posts: 667

    Location: Near Brummie land

    Funny you say this ,i have had this happen the last few days thought it was my pc playing up
     
  3. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 8,740

    Location: Kent.

  4. FloppyPoppy

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2012

    Posts: 7,394

    Location: The king of the north!

    As that link points out. It's more of a version checker to see if updates are available.
     
  5. Thumpsta

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 677

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Same here. Annoys the **** out of me.
     
  6. jimbob339

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Apr 2009

    Posts: 114

    Location: mansfield woodhouse

    Happens to me I select run as admin helps
     
  7. r7slayer

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,237

    Mine doesn't do that. It instantly launches the game for me. Just checked to make sure.
     
  8. varkanoid

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Dec 2007

    Posts: 10,438

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    Same here runs fine. It could be its not closing down properly when Windows closes. I had this under Windows 7 for ages.
    Do you have steam cloud sync on for your games by any chance ? ;)
     
  9. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2009

    Posts: 1,862

    I've got Steam installed on 3 computers and they all do this verification thing when they load as Windows starts up. Mixture of W7 and W10. All are cleanly shutdown as well.
     
  10. Gimpymoo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 15,114

    Location: Nottingham

    It is a version check as already mentioned.

    Surely no biggie in the time it takes on any half decent gaming PC surely?
     
  11. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jan 2009

    Posts: 15,903

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Imagine all the threads if Steam didn't do integrity and update checks :p
     
  12. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 7,360

    tbh, manually shutting down steam every time you shut down the pc is probably more hassle than just ignoring that window the the 10 seconds it appears.
     
  13. ttaskmaster

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,234

    Depends on how rural your internet is...
     
  14. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 9,755

    Maybe because Valve are fed up with people running a dodgy Steam version which uses spoofing to convince Steam its running paid for legit games! Hackers found a way about 5 years ago to install NIC system drivers at an admin level which tricked Steam into not properly checking the integrity of games by redirecting the IP traffic back to the loopback address 127.0.0.1 instead of back to Valve.