1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Stormforce Onyx AMD Ryzen 5 3400

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kt.evans2020, 26 Dec 2020.

  1. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Hi, I got my son a Stormforce Onyx AMD Ryzen 5 3400 for Christmas, all he wants to do is play Rust. After setting it up on Christmas day we found that the graphics card that is integrated isn't good enough to play rust on and now I need to buy a graphics card to install. I know absolutely nothing about computers and have no clue where to start. Someone please help me. Thanks
     
  2. rare

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Nov 2002

    Posts: 7,565

    Location: Sussex

    I think the key question is, how much can you spend?
     
  3. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Would £250 be enough??
     
  4. rare

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Nov 2002

    Posts: 7,565

    Location: Sussex

    Something like a Radeon RX 5500 XT would play Rust and lots of other titles well enough, and would fit well within your budget.You could buy second hand and get a wider choice of cards for less but it’s a more risky proposition. You have no guarantee over warranty, and unless you know what you are looking for specifically, it’s probably best avoided.
     
  5. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Can I put any graphics card in his computer, I think I would prefer to pay more for a new one. I'll have a look at the one you suggested. Thanks
     
  6. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    And can you suggest a reputable website I can buy this from as quickly as possible.
     
  7. rare

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Nov 2002

    Posts: 7,565

    Location: Sussex

    I’m afraid we can’t mention competitors on this website. If you Google the card I mentioned you should be able to locate one in stock elsewhere (I don’t believe overclockers have any currently).

    The motherboard will take it just fine (that’s the large bird all the components a lot in to). My only concern is the power supply. If you take the side off can you see what details are on the power supply? It’s the unit the power lead plugs in to. It should have a rating in watts, and a brand name.
     
  8. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    MSI Radeon RX 5600 XT 6 GB would this be ok
     
  9. rare

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Nov 2002

    Posts: 7,565

    Location: Sussex

    Need to know what power supply you’ve got really...
     
  10. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Ok I'll try and have a look, thanks for your help
     
  11. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    We think its 350w but just double checking
     
  12. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Ok so we have just had it to pieces and couldn't find a make but it says 350w
     
  13. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Sorry for all my questions
     
  14. AtaRo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,925

    The RX 5600 XT 6 GB has a tdp of 150W.

    You need to check how much power/current your psu can deliver on the 12V rail.

    There should be a label somewhere on the side of the psu.

    Full size - https://i.imgur.com/LH60PUK.jpg

    [​IMG]
     
  15. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Thanks I'll try and take it apart again
     
  16. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Ok I'm struggling to post a pic but
    On +12v1 and +12v2 the power is 456w max
    The make is a FSP Group INC and the model number is
    FSP500-60AHBC
    Would the Radeon RX 5500 XT 4gb for £170 be good enough to play Rust on or should I get a better one. Thanks everyone
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 31 Dec 2020
  17. PiKe

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,124

    Location: Lake District

    Disregard by previous reply.

    Anything that needs a 6pin pcie would be fine.
     
  18. AtaRo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,925

    Upload image to imgur, resize to 1280 or resize to 1280 before upload.

    Copy the BBCode (message boards & forums) from imgur and post it here.

    If it really says 456W on the 12V rail then it will be able to power the 5500 XT or the 5600 XT.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 31 Dec 2020
  19. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    Can you show me a pic, it has 3 cables coming from the power supply two with 2 pins and two with 6 pins
     
  20. kt.evans2020

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Dec 2020

    Posts: 17

    I'm trying my best but I'm on my phone and have no clue how to resize pictures and copy BBcodes, it took me an hour to work out how to get inside the psu