1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange RAM problem (Please Help!)

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Pulsedriver, 28 Jan 2006.

  1. Pulsedriver

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,002

    Location: UK

    Hi guys,

    I have 2 x 1GB sticks of Crucial Ballistix 'Tracer' DDR500.

    My motherboard is an MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum (non-sli).

    Up until recently I was experiencing BSOD's on a regular basis, system reboots, freezes etc you name it!
    Memtest reported 0 errors.

    After exhausting every possibility, I somehow found the following;


    Using DIMM socket 1 (Green socket), causes the comp to crash/reboot etc.

    Using DIMM socket 2 (Purple socket), has no problems.

    Using DIMM socket 3 (Green socket) does not work properly

    Using DIMM socket 4 (Purple socket) works, but throws a couple of problems here and there.


    So the only way I get a really stable system is by using 1 stick of 1GB in DIMM2.


    Using sockets 2+3 = Does not work properly (reports as DDR333)
    Using sockets 2+4 = Works, but strange errors every so often.

    Strange, because MSI say to use the green sockets first! :rolleyes:

    Is this the motherboard? Its using the latest BIOS, should I just sell the memory and buy another type? Im running it at auto (which when I used to run with socket 1+2 it was 8-3-3-3, so nothing hardcore!)

    It's odd I received no errors in memtest, yet the comp would be seriously unstable...?

    The memory is not a matched pair I dont think.
     
  2. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    It could be one of three things from your description:
    1) The unmatched pair cannot operate together in DC.
    2) Your memory controller is too weak to handle 1GB sticks in dual channel (if both are individually ok).
    3) Faulty mobo.
     
  3. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    That "s" on the end of "sockets" should not be there. It caught us all out with the release of the K8N Neo 2 (I can't believe it's STILL in the manual). MSI organise their memory colours differently to all other major manufacturers. When using 2 strips of ram, you should use the 2 sockets closest to the cpu, but you mention that you tried that later in the post?
     
  4. Pulsedriver

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,002

    Location: UK

    If I use the first socket closest to the CPU, thats when the computer will reboot, BSOD etc so I cannot use ANY ram in that socket.

    So I can only use the 2nd closest slot to the CPU, but that is a purple socket, not green.
     
  5. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    Have you tried upping the memory voltage in the bios? My Neo2 is unstable without a DDR Booster (to 3.1V with both 2x256MB Ballistix and my current set up).

    Other than that, it's a "scribble down the STOP numbers and check out MS's KB" job.
     
  6. Pulsedriver

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,002

    Location: UK

    I didnt try upping the voltage, im not gonna go through that to get them working to be honest, id rather change the motherboard, I just wanted it all standard lol,

    MSI have really gone down in my opinion lately, my friend changed his for a DFI, and another friend for an Asus, both those boards are so much better.
     
  7. ash7jar

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Dec 2004

    Posts: 514

    Location: Dorset




    Thats i right i have this mobo "MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum" and i have them setup

    in that order and its working fine for me sorry

    So i would say u have a faulty mobo sorry
     
  8. Pulsedriver

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,002

    Location: UK

    Well I have the one stick working fine for the last week in slot 2.

    I changed the stick, started using my 2nd Ballistix stick in slot 2 to try it, and guess what, IE crashes out ...Hmm! So it seems a faulty memory stick too.

    I used memtest it passed 1 full test after 30 mins so I thought its ok, I will have to use it for a few hours?