1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Summer heat damage - bottlenecking

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by base, 27 Jul 2006.

  1. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    My chipset heat-sink fan stopped spinning on my motherboard (ASUS A8N-SLi) and the system started to bottleneck, I have bought a new motherboard and that wasn't the problem.
    Anyone have an idea what might be causing the bottleneck, all my components seem to be working but the processor utilization will jump to 100% depending on the program I open. The physical memory usage is also resting at 45% when idol.

    My initial impression is that the processor has been damaged but I can't be sure without testing each component separately.

    Graphics : NVIDIA 6800 GT
    RAM : Corsair 512MB XMS3200C2PT Platinum *4
    Processor : AMD64 3000+
    Motherboard : ASUS A8N32-SLi
    PSU: ANTEC NEOPOWER 480W
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,884

    Location: Tosche Station

    If your cpu is damaged it almost certainly wouldn't be usable. It's not like you can have a "Dodgey" cpu really. It'll either be broken and not work at all or totally work.

    What do you mean by "Starting to bottleneck"? What's actually different now to before the motherboard fan stopped working? What have you done to fix the dead fan issue?
     
  3. Xinn

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 4,103

    Location: Wakefield

    I had a virus that was running a program in the background that was eating up 87% of processor usage the other day. Maybe it's something like that?

    Check the processes list in task manager just incase.
     
  4. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17


    My graphics are very unstable when playing BF2, I've never had problems before this, I also noted the ping gradualy increasing to about 800 and then down again to 17.
    It's also affecting other applications, depending on how many processes are running. I've even noticed the problem in explorer windows, the CPU is maxing at every opportunity.

    I replaced the motherboard when the chipset fan stopped, I think it must be a component either the RAM, CPU, GFX or RAID.

    I've up to date virus and spyware plus I reformatted the HDD when I replaced the motherboard.
     
  5. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    Hmm, doubt it very much it's a cpu problem, they generally work or don't work. If the cpu is being used constantly, it could be some kind of software problem with optimization.

    Just checking, that *4 means you have 2gb of ram right, and not 512mb?

    When you boot up and leave the comp for 30 mins or so, what happens, is the cpu still used then?
     
  6. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    2Gig RAM 4 512MB modules.

    When the system is idol assuming their isn't any background tasks running the CPU drops down to 3%. It seems to use an awfull lot of the CPU for simple tasks. Though when its at 100% it does eventaually finish loading any applications without crashing.
     
  7. t31os

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 May 2006

    Posts: 3,575

    Location: Surrey - UK

    Sounds like a software issue.

    Do you get the same latency opeing things in safe mode?
     
  8. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    Not sure I'll have to check though as I reinstalled everything I don't think their is a problem with the software. I would say the problem has similarities to a new windows install before installing the graphics card drivers. I'm not showing any problems in the Device Manager however.
     
  9. CFC-420

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2006

    Posts: 113

    Location: Peterborough

    whats the temps on the video card?
     
  10. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    not sure not detected by ai booster, how can i check?
     
  11. CFC-420

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2006

    Posts: 113

    Location: Peterborough

    right click desktop -> properties -> settings -> advanced -> geforce xxxx -> temperature settings.

    Should be that. or simular..
    I'm an ati guy but do have a nvidia in one of my boxes and thats how I get her temps.

    The problems your describing really does sound like video card though.

    It's either that or, masses of spyware/virus (maybe you backed up infected files??)
     
  12. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,599

    ati tool will allow u to see the gpu temp *if ure graphics supports the monitoring of the temp. google it.
     
  13. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    From a cold boot the GPU core reads 65 degrees C, Ambient temp 45C. After booting up Battlefield 2 the GPU core temp has risen to 77 degrees C and 55C Ambient.
    I shut down BF2 after 5min and the temp has dropped slightly, I did experience a few GFX glitches in the game. It is now idling at 70C.

    Gosh darn my graphics card is kaput! is their a cost effective solution or will I need to fork out for a brand new one? I've don't overclock the graphics so it must have been the case temp.
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2006
  14. CFC-420

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2006

    Posts: 113

    Location: Peterborough

    sounds fried. You get Artifacts? Or no Display?

    Check warranty and rma if you can.

    New video card required never the less sounds like.
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2006
  15. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    Not quite, have seen cpus fail to install windows or run unstable when another cpu of the same speed and model, even stepping worked fine, also seen damaged cache, last one i saw was a 3000+ Barton that only worked when the L2 was disabled in the BIOS, slooooww as a turtle without it, but windows did'nt bluescreen or the BIOS did'nt freeze up anymore and replacing with a Barton 3200+ solved the clients issue. Also had a mate who physically dropped his Tbred or Palomino, can't remember, but it only saw 64kb L2 from that day on :D

    As for the issue at hand, check the seating of the GPU heatsink and/or reapply the thermal compound, heat might have 'dried' it.
     
  16. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    Not gettang any artifacts just really poor refresh rates.

    It's possible my CPU may need replacing then?
     
  17. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    True, but the cpu isn't freezing, it's just using all it's cycles for nothing.

    GPU's normally run a lot hotter than CPU's, the temps aren't the end of the world, but I would try and get them lower.

    Hang on, have you tried resitting the NB fan or made sure the fan is working? If the northbridge is overheating, it may be causing loads of strange errors. Worth a shot
     
  18. ALienBC

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 170

     
  19. base

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jul 2006

    Posts: 17

    I'm having doubts that my GPU is the problem, I just think the refresh rates are tied in with the unusually high CPU utilization.
    Its a new build with a replacement motherboard (A8N32-SLi with heat pipe technology) the problem has re-manifested on the new build. I have no idea what might be causing it?

    I'm probably going to take it home next week and test all the components on a friends system. I should be able to test the GPU this week as I ordered a replacement.