1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System clock losing time (~5mins a day).

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by norm, 30 Jan 2006.

  1. norm

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,046

    Anybody any ideas why this is happening? System not switched off so not a BIOS battery problem.
     
  2. Big Chris

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,383

    Location: Chipping Norton

    I've had this problem for a while now. With my last machine, it would lose about 3/4 mins if I left it on overnight.

    With my new machine it gains about the same if left on overnight.

    Never quite got to the bottom it so would be interested to know if there's a fix.
     
  3. chrismox

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,701

    Location: Brighton

    I have a similar problem and found only one soultion - use Tardis from here: http://www.kaska.demon.co.uk/tardis.htm

    It corrects your clock automatically.

    My version is 1.5, it seems the current version is 1.6 (shareware). I don't know if there are any limitations on v1.6 but if so, let me know and I'll send you v1.5
     
  4. Mana

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,051

    Location: .earth

    motherboard battery needs to be replaced?
     
  5. Big Chris

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,383

    Location: Chipping Norton

    As it says in mine and the original post, the change in time happens while the machine is left on and running from mains. I could understand the BIOS battery being to blame if the time changed after the machine was turned off for a period of time, but not while it's on.
     
  6. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Maybe try synchronisation of the clock or turn it off if it is on?


    Strange really that today we have computers that can do millions of calculations a second yet can't keep the correct time when a 50p watch from a fair can :confused:
     
  7. KRU Shotgun

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Aug 2003

    Posts: 354

    Location: Crewe,Cheshire

    U got it set 2 the correct zone & on update time & date auto?
     
  8. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    I had a motherboard which would lose the time, a few minutes a day.

    It still works in another build to this day, but I just rely on XP to keep the time synchronised.
     
  9. ns400r

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Apr 2004

    Posts: 3,575

    Location: UK, Near the middle......

    The RTC is powered from the onboard battery and NOT from the mains. Replace the battery !
     
  10. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    My computer running XP Home has recently started to lose time as well, around a minute per day. It is left on 24/7. Time synchronisation is turned on, but it only updates once a week so that isn't much use.

    Is there any way to force it to update the time once a day?

    Is there anything that could be causing this phenomenon, other than a failing motherboard battery? My mobo is getting on a bit, must be three years old now.
     
  11. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    I used to use

    YACS (Yet Another Clock Synchronizer)

    google for it.