1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tagging along

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shifty_uk, 12 Sep 2009.

1. shifty_uk

Capodecina

Anyone here loathe tagging along? I generally avoid it but if needs must I'll just go along with it.

Just been invited to a birthday meal with the GF, she knows the host and a couple of others but obviously I know no one. Just feels a bit more awkward than usual. It's not exactly like turning up to a busy party.

2. GhostlyPea

Mobster

Yeah its not for me, especially as I'm not very good at talking to people that I do not know. If somebody else wants to then fair enough but soemtimes it can be a bit odd

- Pea0n

3. Phate

Caporegime

I used to hate it, but now I just go with it

Why?

I've met quite a few cool people through it, sometimes its awkward, sometimes its boring, but sometimes you have a right good crack, you just don't know which so go to it with an open mind, you've got nothing to lose :)

4. Delvis

Caporegime

At the end of the day your GF is there...So hey.

I had to go out every so often with the GF's friends, and as I didn't know them it was strange at first (being the not very talkative type around new people)...But after a few times it was cool.

I had to meet the entire family once all in one go, now that was odd.

5. buckeejit

Mobster

same

6. NiCkNaMe

Mobster

i used to be wary but now i love it. Guess it's moreso since i had a job where i'd do a lot of travelling and get lumped with some random people. Hey - even if the companies crap you can have a decent meal and a few beers!

7. Conscript

Sgarrista

This. I'd say its important to get comfortable with your other half's circle of friends. Ive been in a similar situation where Ive been round to the flat of a couple I went to uni with and met their friends; at first I felt a bit odd, but now I'm friends with all of them :)

8. Dark_Angel

Capodecina