1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telewest: The only place to watch ALL Worldcup games in HD!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by MouseMat2004, 15 May 2006.

  1. MouseMat2004

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,661

    Location: Workgroup

  2. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    Fantastic, since I watch nothing other than football I was reluctant to pay out for the HD box with only half the games in HD so that's me sold.
     
  3. da_mic_1530

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,576

    Location: Leeds

    all i want is too watch games in HD, i dont have telewest, i cant get SKY HD due to cost, im not buying the £300 recevier and dish, is it possible and legal to watch internet streams from abroad?

    /derails thread
     
  4. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    If you've got an internet connection that lets you stream HD I'd love to know about it.

    Only way to get it in HD without forking out for equipment is to go to another country that is more advanced with HD (plenty of them).
     
  5. norm

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,143

  6. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    All 64 games for €64! That's good value for money.

    However, I thought HD receivers started around the £300 mark?
     
  7. englishpremier

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Feb 2003

    Posts: 7,990

    Location: Europe

    you can buy an 85m dish and lnb for lass than £25 on ebay, to save money on a reciever, (though they don't cost the earth anyhow) you buy a skystar2 PCI card and use your computer as a receiver. :D

    however to watch encrypted channels 'legally' you would need a cam, which usually involves a slightly more expensive card.

    either way its cheaper than sky, and you have the choice of the whole of europe, just point your dish at the satallite you want to recieve from etc..
     
  8. norm

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,143

  9. Oops Dead Again

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Sep 2003

    Posts: 572

    Location: In Space

    I don't have much choice, there's no cable in my area so its Sky HD for me.
     
  10. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,831

    Ive just ordered tvdrive today got a install date of 31may just intime for the world cup. :D
     
  11. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,480

    so ntl are also able to broadcast the BBC hidef matches?
     
  12. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Thanks, I am aware of the components which go to make up a Satellite system and how they work. The point I was making is that a HD sat receiver is not much cheaper or really any cheaper than SKy HD receiver (remembering SKyHD is a PVR too).

    We are discussing the alternatives too...
     
  13. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,480

    telewest havent cabled central London grrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  14. nero120

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jan 2004

    Posts: 6,824

    Location: Londinium

    I know, and my gf isnt allowed to install a dish on her building so theres not much that can be done.

    I still cant believe we are so behind the times here! After all the tax we pay and the amount people spend her, we are behind other countries in terms of services available! We should have had HD long ago. :(
     
  15. norm

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,143

    Reception to 28E (Sky's satellite) will work from behind a window in most cases providing the window isn't metallic.

    You can also get transparent PVC dishes which look a lot less conspicuous.
     
  16. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,410

    Location: Bristol, UK

    I had a chap call me to align a dish which looks like a light apparently, he has a listed building.
     
  17. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London

    I called up today to order a TV drive, got the earliest installation they had - June 9th between 1 and 6pm!! Couldn't be cutting it any finer for the start of the world cup.
     
  18. WIBSBOT

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Sep 2003

    Posts: 834

    Location: essex

    I have TVDrive - just need a High-def TV now. Now I have to make some decisions.
     
  19. LeoWyatt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,688

    Location: Piggy's Slave Cage

    How you finding TV Drive good? We're getting it next Tuesday, just need to sort the TV.
     
  20. WIBSBOT

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Sep 2003

    Posts: 834

    Location: essex

    Had quite a few problems with it so far, part-recorded programs being the most annoying one so far. Although it has improved slightly in the last month or so. When's it 100% reliable then I'll stop recording stuff onto my harddisk/dvd player as well as TV Drive.

    I suspect that its teething trouble and alot of the problems will get sorted out but it is a tad annoying if you record something to find out the last 10 mins hasn't been recorded. :mad: