1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tesla Model 3

Discussion in 'Motors' started by wildest_jjk, 13 May 2015.

  1. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    I’m not sure anything of his post suggested Manchester to London...

    He’s had it 5 days.
     
  2. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    See I don’t get this preheating to get better efficiency either, you can’t then purely look at the consumption for the road event and ignore the Wh consumed heating it up pre trip.

    I’m trying to drive mine slightly efficiently at times... if only to protect my licence!
     
  3. Russinating

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2005

    Posts: 16,421

    Location: Bristol

    Not really, I've logged all my drives since day 0 and sorted by efficiency all my lowest drives are short, cold trips. My lowest (or highest depending on your perspective!) is 565 for a 1.6 mile trip when it was 6c. I doubt I prewarmed.

    My best efficiency is 86 but another short drive so both at risk of being inaccurate. My best for an over 20 minute drive is 136.

    I agree there's not too much point worrying about efficiency, but it kinda comes with the territory of Tesla doesn't it. It's like telling someone who's just bought a 3090 or 5950X not to pay attention to benchmarks and temps.
     
  4. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    Guess you can get right into the detail...

    as you pass through the panel gaps and translucent paint :p:p:D
     
  5. Patrick020812

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Dec 2020

    Posts: 11

    Hi all,
    What a debate have I started! ;)

    To clarify, I am more than happy to live with this kind of efficiency.
    The cost itself is negligible when compared to my previous low 20's mpg and life's too short to worry about a few miles of range.

    I was asking more on the side of - is there something likely wrong with my car so that I can book a service centre visit, but so far it sounds like it is just my driving style.


    What a beast of a car though - and the panel gaps seem fine too! :D
     
  6. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    Always gonna be the same in novelty week :D
     
  7. Patrick020812

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Dec 2020

    Posts: 11

    Love it mate, today is probably the first time I thought about my previous car (BMW M2) - and that was only to remind myself of the poor MPG :D
     
  8. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,922

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    So? In the first week I had mine I went from Manchester to Frankfurt and back. The point I was making was simply that if you drive to 500Wh/mi you’ll only get 150 miles range out of a M3 LR. And that’s not really the point of a car whose name is Long Range.
     
  9. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,922

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

  10. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    Waaa waa it’s the Tesla police. :p:D

    It’s was a joke. No car is, some are just much better. Muggles tend to complain about cars, only the Tesla elite suck it up as they are beta testers for something special.

    PS. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/en.pingwest.com/amp/a/8154

    It’s called context.
     
  11. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,922

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Because it’s about explaining why his calculated economy is so bad. If, as is likely, he’s using 3-5% of his battery capacity to heat the car that’s equivalent to driving 12-20 miles. If, at the same time he drives 12-15 miles, then his efficiency is quite literally halved hence 250WH/mi becomes 500 Wh/mi. If this is the reason he’s seeing the high energy consumption figures then by pre-heating he will normalise his efficiency numbers.
     
  12. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    Is that the calculation the car does then?

    Like I said 5 days in (including xmas!) isn’t enough to baseline nor would that sort of “corruption” be apparent on a longer trip.

    not really sure why we are spending valuable time hypothesising this. Let us know how you are getting on in a fortnight :)
     
  13. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,922

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    The car divides the amount of charge it had at the beginning of the drive-the amount of charge it has now divided by the number of miles driven on the trip. So yes, the more miles you drive the less the effect of heating is seen in the efficiency figures.
     
  14. Jonnycoupe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,194

    Location: N.Warks

    So preconditioning is included in the gross trip usage. Neat.
     
  15. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 16,922

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    It is on all electric cars as far as I’m aware. Unless you’re plugged in. Because then it pretty much keeps up with the battery drain.

    The impact can be enormous. This video is pretty extreme, and I certainly would just skip to the end but you get the idea because it’s literally just watching ice melt.

     
  16. booyaka

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 13,619

    Yuck - Not liking the latest update at all...

    The UI has completely changed.

    Lot of wasted screen space now on the right, Speedo is WAY smaller to view - not impressed with it at all. Don't rush to update!
     
  17. Patrick020812

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Dec 2020

    Posts: 11

    A quick question for the Teslamate users...

    I've tried following this tutorial ( on Windows ): https://tslaspot.com/teslamate-setup/
    Everything goes well, until I hit the following command: docker-compose up -d

    That's when I get the following error:

    ERROR: yaml.scanner.ScannerError: mapping values are not allowed here
    in "./docker-compose.yml", line 5, column 10


    Any ideas anyone? It's all black magic to me...
     
  18. Russinating

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2005

    Posts: 16,421

    Location: Bristol

  19. Patrick020812

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Dec 2020

    Posts: 11

    Nice one, I will give it a go.
    In the mean time though, If anyone has any ideas please feel free to share.

    Thank you
     
  20. Russinating

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2005

    Posts: 16,421

    Location: Bristol